The NU107 Rock Awards - the coming of the Supreme Rule
() - November 8, 2008 - 12:00am

Make way as the Rock Bosses of the airwaves recapture the stage at the NU107 Rock Awards 2008 happening on November 27, 7 p.m. at Silvercity, Frontera Verde in Pasig. 2008 marks the 15th year of the Rock Awards, giving prominence to the top dogs of Pinoy rock.

Throughout its 21 years of existence, NU107 has pioneered and revolutionized the rock radio by promoting the best of local talent. This year’s event gathers those who have created milestones in shaping today’s rock scene with performers no less than the likes of Greyhondz, Pupil, Radioactive Sago Project, Markus Highway, Rico Blanco, Urbandub, Bamboo, Sandwich, The Dawn and Razorback.

Today, the NU107 Rock Awards continues to acknowledge the most deserving in the industry, giving out awards for the Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, Vocalist of the Year, Guitarist of the Year, Bassist of the Year, Drummer of the Year, Song of the Year, Best New Artist, Best Album Packaging, Best Music Video, Producer of the Year, Smart / URock College Band of the Year, Best Live Act, Red Horse In the Raw Award.

The NU107 15th Rock Awards official list of nominees

Best New Artist                              

1. Taken by Cars                  

2. Angulo                   

3. The Out of Body Special    

4. Reklamo                           

5. The Camerawalls 

Vocalist Of The Year         

1. Gabby Alipe of Urbandub

2. Ely Buendia of Pupil

3. Rico Blanco                      

4. Niles Chong of Angulo

5. Carlos Magno of The Out of Body Special       

Guitarist Of The Year        

1. John Dinopol of Urbandub          

2. Rico Blanco                                  

3. Kelvin Uy of Angulo

4. Chino Singson of Itchyworms

5. LC De Leon of Reklamo 

Bassist Of The Year

1. Lalay Lim of Urbandub

2. Nino Avenido for The Out of Body Special

3. Myrene Academia of Sandwich

4. Dok Sergio of Pupil

5. Benny Yap of Taken by Cars

Drummer Of The Year      

1. Jan Jan Mendoza of Urbandub  

2. Mike Dizon of Sandwich / Pedicab       

3. Wendell Garcia of Pupil              

4. Bryan Kong of Taken by Cars    

5. Jazz Nicolas of Itchyworms         

Best Live Act                                  

1. Urbandub                          

2. Sandwich                          

3. Greyhoundz                                  

4. Itchyworms                        

5. The Spaceflower Show   

Artist Of The Year  

1. Urbandub                          

2. Sandwich                          

3. Pupil                                  

4. Rico Blanco                                  

5. Out of Body Special

6. Angulo       

Album Of The Year

1. “Under Southern Light” of Urbandub

2. “<s> Marks the Spot of Sandwich

3. “Wild Life” of Pupil           

4. “Is Love” of The Out of Body Special

5. “Ending of a New Kind” of Taken by Cars

Best Album Packaging    

1. for “<s> Marks the Spot” of Sandwich

2. Team Manila for “Under Southern Lights” of Urbandub

3. Sarah Gaugler for “Pocket Guide to the Other World” of The Camerawalls

4. LC de Leon and Toastedshop for “Bitch for Change” of Reklamo

5. GE Madriaga-Mapa for “Shinji Ilabas Mo Na Ang Helicopter” of Pedicab

Song Of The Year              

1. “Betamax” by Sandwich              

2. “Monobloc” by Pupil                     

3. “Castaway” by Inyo                      

4. “Evidence” by Urbandub             

5. “The Best Mistake” by Angulo    

6. “Pasubali” by Spongecola          

Best Music Video              

1. “Guillotine” of Urbandub (Directed by Pancho Esguerra)

2. “Ang Pusa Mo” of Pedicab (Directed by RA Rivera)                           

3. “Monobloc” of Pupil (Directed by King Palisoc)                                   

4. “Fallen” of Drip (Directed by Juan Alcazaren)                          

5. “Maskara” of Rivermaya (Directed by RA Rivera)       

In The Raw Award 

1. Soul Brothers                   

2. Shut Eye View                  

3. Chromosom                     

4. Bembol Rockers              

5. Play           

Producer Of The Year      

1. Urbandub and Angee Rozul for “Under Southern Lights” of Urbandub

2. Rico Blanco for “Your Universe” of Rico Blanco                                   

3. Pupil and Jerome Velasco for “Wildlife” of Pupil                     

4. Eric Perlas for “Is Love” of The Out of Body Special                           

5. Miguel Alcaraz and Taken by Cars for “Ending of a New Kind” of Taken by Cars   

Smart / Urock College Band Of The Year                                

1. Fuzz from Ateneo                         

2. Mithi from University of Sto. Tomas

3. Battle City from College of St. Benilde

4. The Eighteens from Letran                     

5. Twin Lobster from St. Scholastica’s College   

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with