Abra, Joanna Ampil lead Urian awards
Rapper Abra of “Respeto” and theatre and film actress Joanna Ampil of “Ang Larawan” bannered Gawad Urian 2018 award winners as they bagged Best Actor and Best Actress, respectively.
Instagram/abraofficial, joampil

Abra, Joanna Ampil lead Urian awards

(Philstar.com) - June 16, 2018 - 10:40am

MANILA, Philippines — Abra and Joanna Ampil proved once more  that a musical performer can successfully cross over to film by emerging Best Actor and Best Actress, respectively at the 41st Gawad Urian awards held last night at the Vertis North Tent in Quezon City.

The award is a first for Abra, who performed a rap number on stage,  and won for the indie film "Respeto," an independent film about the Philippine hiphop culture.

Besides thanking the cast and production team of "Respeto," Abra toasted hiphop culture, which he described as something no one used to pay attention to.

Ampil, who was preparing for a production number when her name was called, emerged from backstage to receive her trophy. She turned emotional as she thanked the "Ang Larawan" team, for which she played Candida Marasigan in the film version of  National Artist for Literature Nick Joaquin’s literary play.

She also shared her award with her family, who always reminds her to be positive, and the theater community, which the international actress is part of.

“We are not going to be trapped in a box. We will carry on, breaking through the barriers,” she said.

Veteran actress Odette Khan duplicated her victory at the FAMAS awards by winning Best Supporting Actress for her role as a terror law professor in the indie film "Bar Boys."

Seasoned performer Dido dela Paz was adjudged Best Supporting Actor for playing a professor, poet and owner of a second-hand bookstore in "Respeto."

"Balangiga: Howling Wilderness," whose backdrop is the 1901 Balangiga massacre  during the Philippine-American war, was named Best Film.

Arnel Barbarona won Best Director for "Tu Pug Imatuy" (translated as the right to kill in Manobo).

US-based composer Winston Raval flew to Mania to receive his Natatanging Gawad Urian for creating the musical score of several well-loved films.

The complete list of winners:

Best Film
"Balangiga: Howling Wilderness" - WINNER
"Bhoy Intsik"
"The Chanters"
"Tu Pug Imatuy"
Best Director
Arnel Barbarona, "Tu Pug Imatuy" - WINNER
Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo, "Kita Kita"
Khavn De La Cruz, "Balangiga: Howling Wilderness"
Joel Lamangan, "Bhoy Intsik"
James Robin M. Mayo, "The Chanters"
Treb Monteras II, "Respeto"
Mikhail Red, "Birdshot"

Best Actress
Joanna Ampil, "Ang Larawan" - WINNER
Angeli Bayani, "Bagahe"
Alessandra de Rossi, "Kita Kita"
Gloria Diaz, "Si Chedeng at Si Apple"
Dexter Doria, "Paki"
Jally Nae Gilbaliga, "The Chanters"
Agot Isidro, "Changing Partners"
Elizabeth Oropesa, "Si Chedeng at Si Apple"
Bela Padilla, "100 Tula Para Kay Stella"
Angellie Nicholle Sanoy, "Bomba"
Malona Sulatan, "Tu Pug Imatuy"

Best Actor
Abra, "Respeto" - WINNER
Nonie Buencamino, "Smaller and Smaller Circles"
Timothy Castillo, "Neomanila"
Noel Comia Jr., "Kiko Boksingero"
Allen Dizon, "Bomba"
RS Francisco, "Bhoy Intsik"
Jojit Lorenzo, "Changing Partners"
Empoy Marquez, "Kita Kita"
Sandino Martin, "Changing Partners
Justine Samson, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Best Supporting Actress
Yayo Aguila, "Kiko Boksingero"
Angeli Bayani, "Maestra"
Shamaine Buencamino, "Paki"
Jasmine Curtis-Smith, "Siargao"
Chai Fonacier, "Respeto"
Nathalie Hart, "Historiographika Errata"
Odette Khan, "Bar Boys" - WINNER
Menchu Lauchengco-Yulo, "Ang Larawan"
Gloria Sevilla, "Maestra"
Best Supporting Actor
John Arcilla, "Birdshot"
Robert Arevalo, "Ang Larawan"
Romulo Caballero, "The Chanters"
Dido De la Paz, "Respeto" - WINNER
Pio Del Rio, "Balangiga: Howling Wilderness"
Nor Domingo, "Respeto"
Ronwaldo Martin, "Bhoy Intsik"
Jess Mendoza, "Sa Gabing Nanahimik ang mga Kuliglig"
Arnold Reyes, "Birdshot"

Best Screenplay
Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo, "Kita Kita"
Ronald C. Carballo, "Bhoy Intsik"
Njel De Mesa, Alberto Monteras II, "Respeto"
Christopher Gozum, "Dapol Tan Payawar Na Tayug 1931" - WINNER
Jerry Gracio, Khavn, Achinette Villamor, "Balangiga: Howling Wilderness"
Andrian Legaspi, John Bedia, "The Chanters"
Arnel Mardoquio, "Tu Pug Imatuy"
Kip Oebanda, "Bar Boys"

Best Cinematography
Ike Avellana, "Respeto"
Albert Banzon, "Balangiga: Howling Wilderness"
Mycko David, "Birdshot"
Mycko David, "Neomanila" - WINNER
Bryan Jimenez, Arbi Barbarona, "Tu Pug Imatuy"
TM Malones, "Baconaua"
JA Tadena, "Smaller and Smaller Circles"
Best Production Design
Bagwani Ampalayo, "Tu Pug Imatuy"
Popo Diaz, "Respeto"
Gino Gonzales, "Ang Larawan" - WINNER
Marielle Hizon, "Baconaua"
Ericson Navarro, "Smaller and Smaller Circles"
Daniel Red, "Neomanila"
Thesa Tang, "Kita Kita"
Marija Vicente, Timmy Harn, Zeus Bascon, "Balangiga: Howling Wilderness"

Best Editing
Lawrence Ang, "Respeto" - WINNER
Arnel Barbarona, "Tu Pug Imatuy"
Lawrence Fajardo, "Ang Larawan"
Jay Halili, "Smaller and Smaller Circles"
Marya Ignacio, "Kita Kita"
Marya Ignacio, "Changing Partners"
Carlo Francisco Manatad, "Balangiga: Howling Wilderness"
John Anthony Wong, "Bhoy Intsik"

Best Music
Arnel Barbarona, "Tu Pug Imatuy"
Ryan Cayabyab, "Ang Larawan"
Vincent de Jesus, "Changing Partners"
Jay Durias, "Respeto"
Erwin Fajardo, "The Chanters"
Khavn De La Cruz, "Balangiga: Howling Wilderness" - WINNER
Lutgardo Labad and Odoni Pestelos, "Smaller and Smaller Circles"

Best Sound
KC Caballero, "Ang Larawan"
Aian Caro, "Birdshot"
Corrine de San Jose, "Respeto" - WINNER
Mikko Quizon, Stephen Lopez, "Balangiga: Howling Wilderness"
Mikko Quizon, "Changing Partners"
Jeff Sabayle, "Tu Pug Imatuy"
Immanuel Verona, "The Chanters"

Best Documentary
Jose S. Buenconsejo, "Seven Dances of Life"
JL Burgos, "Han-Ayan"
Sari Dalena and Keith Sicat, "History of the Underground"
Ramona Diaz, "Motherland"
Phyllis Grande, "Haunted: A Last Visit to the Red House"
Nawruz Paguidopon, "God BLISS Our Home"
Dempster Samarista, "Bundok Banahaw, Sacred and Profane"
Victor Delotavo Tagaro and Toshihiko Uriu, "Yield" - WINNER

Best Short Film
Glenn Barit, "Aliens Ata"
Christian Candelaria, "Sa Saiyang Isla"
Carl Adrian Chavez, "Sorry for the Inconvenience"
Kiri Dalena, "Gikan Sa Ngitngit Nga Kinailadman" (From the Dark Depths) - WINNER
Keith Deligero, "Babylon"
Kyle Fermindoza, "Manggagarab"
Dennis Hubag, "Empyreus"
TM Malones, "Bawod"
Carlo Francisco Manatad, "Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of the Month"
Roanna Mercado, "Piko"
Maje Papin and Ef Orpiada, Jr., "Lutab"
Joseph Vincent 'Xeph' Suarez, "Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah" (Astri And Tambulah)
Edmund Telmo, "Redempsyon"
Kim Timan, "Caramel Child"
Natatanging Gawad Urian: Winston Raval (Vanishing Tribe)

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with