Vilma Santos, Jasmine Curtis-Smith lead 2013 Cinemalaya winners

Chuck Smith - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines – Actresses Vilma Santos, Irma Adlawan and Jasmine Curtis-Smith won the top acting awards at the 9th Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival on Sunday.

Vilma won the Best Actress award in the Directors Showcase category for her performance in Jeffrey Jeturian’s “Ekstra.”

“Ekstra” also received the Best Supporting Actress award (for Ruby Ruiz), the Audience Choice award, and the Special Jury Prize

But it was Jerrold Tarog’s “Sana Dati” that dominated the Directors Showcase category. The film won Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Supporting Actor (for TJ Trinidad). It also received all the category’s technical awards.

No winner was declared in the Directors Showcase Best Actor category.

'I really did not expect this'

In the New Breed category, Hannah Espia’s “Transit” was received the Best Film and Best Director awards.

“Transit” stars Irma Adlawan and Jasmine Curtis-Smith won the category’s Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress awards.

“I really did not expect this. When I went to the audition, sabi ko lang, ‘Hey, just go in there and see what you can do. And kung may film ka this year, go ahead and do your best’,” she said during her acceptance speech.

Jasmine further said, “The experience was more than I wanted. I’m looking forward to more projects with Cinemalaya.”

“Thank you to everyone who helped me become the person that I am now and the actress that I am now.”

The cast of “Transit” also received a Certificate of Recognition for Ensemble acting.

Transsexual actor Mimi Jureaza was named Best Actor for the film “Quick Change,” while comedian Joey Paras was named Best Supporting Actor for the film “Babagwa.”

There were five films in the Directors Showcase category and 10 films in the New Breed category.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Directors Showcase category

Best Sound: Sana Dati

Best Original Musical Score: Sana Dati

Best Editing: Sana Dati

Best Production Design: Sana Dati

Best Cinematography: Sana Dati

Best Screenplay: Jeffrey Jeturian, Zig Dulay, Antoinette Jafaone; Ekstra

Best Supporting Actor: TJ Trinidad; Sana Dati

Best Supporting Actress: Ruby Ruiz; Ekstra

Best Actor: No winner

Best Actress: Vilma Santos, Ekstra

Special Jury Prize: Ekstra

Best Director: Jerrold Tarog; Sana Dati

Best Film: Sana Dati


New Breed category

Best Sound: Quick Change

Best Original Musical Score: Transit

Best Editing: Transit

Best Production Design: Rekorder

Best Cinematography: Transit

Best Screenplay: Quick Change

Best Supporting Actress: Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Transit

Best Supporting Actor: Joey Paras; Babagwa

Best Actor: Mimi Juareza, Quick Change

Best Actress: Irma Adlawan, Transit

Certificate of recognition for ensemble acting: Irma Adlawan, Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Ping Medina, Mercedes Cabral, and Marc Justine Alvarez; Transit

Special Jury Prize: Quick Change

Best Director: Hannah Espia; Transit

Best Film: Transit



Directors Showcase: Ekstra

New Breed: Transit


Short feature category

Best Screenplay: The Houseband's Wife

Special Citation: Sa Wakas

Special Jury Prize: Taya

Best Director: Jann Eric Tiglao; Onang

Best Film: The Houseband's Wife


Audience Choice Award

Short feature: Taya

Directors Showcase: Ekstra

New Breed: Transit










  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with