LIST: Philippine holidays in 2017

Rosette Adel (Philstar.com) - August 18, 2016 - 1:40pm

MANILA, Philippines - Malacañang on Thursday released the list of official nationwide holidays for 2017.

President Rodrigo Duterte signed Proclamation 50 on Aug.18,  declaring 10 regular holidays and seven special non-working days in 2017.

“Now, therefore, I Rodrigo Roa Duterte by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution as the President of the Philippines, do hereby declare the following regular holidays and special days for the year 2017 shall be observed in the country,” Duterte said in the proclamation.

The proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of Eid'l Fitr and Eidul Adha shall be issued after their approximate dates have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar.

Regular holidays

New Year's Day January 1 Sunday
Araw ng Kagitingan April 9 Sunday
Maundy Thursday April 13 Thursday
Good Friday April 14 Friday
Labor Day May 1 Monday
Independence Day June 12 Monday
National Heroes Day August 28 Monday
Bonifacio Day November 30 Thursday
Christmas Day December 25 Monday
Rizal Day December 30 Saturday

Special (non-working) days

Chinese New Year January 28 Saturday
EDSA People Power Revolution February 25 Saturday
Black Saturday April 15 Saturday
Ninoy Aquino Day August 21 Monday
All Saints Day November 1 Wednesday
Last day of the year December 31 Sunday
Additional special (non-working) day October 31 Tuesday

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with