Celebrities who won and lost in 2022 polls

Charmie Joy Pagulong - The Philippine Star
Celebrities who won and lost in 2022 polls
Action star Robin Padilla is leading the senatorial race.
Stars’ official social media pages

As the election returns of the May 9, 2022 polls are almost 100 percent transmitted, the results as to who won in the national and local elections are becoming clearer.

Some of these candidates are local showbiz personalities and celebrities, who took their chance on politics. Some triumphed, while others lost.

Here is the current list of personalities and celebrities, who have gained more votes against their opponents based on the partial and unofficial counts data from the poll body COMELEC:

Action star Robin Padilla has topped the senatorial race, with broadcaster Raffy Tulfo and former actor Jinggoy Estrada placing third and 12th, respectively.

Robin’s wife, actress and TV host Mariel Rodriguez-Padilla, former wife Liezl Sicangco, and daughter Kylie Padilla congratulated him and thanked all those who voted for him.

Shortly after the elections, actor-turned-politician Arjo Atayde was proclaimed as Quezon City’s (QC) first congressional district representative, while celebrity couple Lucy Torres-Gomez and Richard Gomez were declared as Ormoc City Mayor and Leyte fourth district representative, respectively.

Arjo Atayde has been proclaimed as QC first congressional district representative

Arjo ran under QC Mayor Joy Belmonte’s local party Serbisyo sa Bayan.

Sen. Bong Revilla (left) attends son Jolo Revilla and wife Lani Mercado’s proclamation as Cavite’s first and second district representatives.

Actor Jolo Revilla was proclaimed Cavite’s first district representative and his mom, former Bacoor City Mayor Lani Mercado-Revilla, as Cavite’s second district representative.

Karla Estrada is gaining enough votes for Tingog partylist, where she is the third nominee.

Adding to the list are actors Jason Abalos as board member of Nueva Ecija’s second district; Javi Benitez as mayor of Victorias City, Negros Occidental; Daniel Fernando as Bulacan governor; and Pinoy Big Brother 2008 big winner Ejay Falcon as vice governor of Oriental Mindoro.

Both thespians Yul Servo and Raymond Bagatsing faced off in the vice mayoralty race in Manila. The former won.

Those who secured a spot as a council member in their respective cities are former child actor Nash Aguas in Cavite City; actress Angelu de Leon in Pasig City; actor and host Jhong Hilario in Makati City; and actor Alfred Vargas in QC’s District 5.

Celebrity couple Lucy Torres-Gomez and Richard Gomez have been declared as Ormoc City mayor and Leyte fourth district representative, respectively.


Reelectionists Vandolph Quizon and Jomari Yllana will take on council seats in Parañaque City; comedian Lou Veloso in Makati City; and basketball player James Yap in San Juan City.

Binibining Pilipinas Globe 2019 and that year’s Miss Globe second runner-up Leren Mae Bautista ranked first as councilor of Los Baños, Laguna.

Alfred Vargas (second from left) is proclaimed as one of the councilors in QC’s District 5, while his brother PM (third from left) wins a congressional seat in the same district.

Below are the personalities who backed out from seeking posts in the May elections: Anjo Yllana (congressman of Camarines Sur’s fourth district); Tom Rodriguez (nominee of Anak Maharlikang Pilipino partylist); Noli de Castro (senator), and Nora Aunor (nominee of National Organization for Responsive Advocacies for the Arts partylist).

Meanwhile, former actor and Manila Mayor Isko Moreno and boxing champ and senator Manny Pacquiao conceded to presumptive President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr.

Former local actor and Senate president Tito Sotto III also conceded the vice presidential race to Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio.

In the senatorial race, former QC Mayor Herbert Bautista and producer Manuel Monsour del Rosario III did not make the cut.

Actress Angelica Jones failed to gather enough votes to be the representative of Laguna’s third district. Same goes to Richard Yap in Cebu City’s first district; Dan Alvaro as board member in Bulacan’s fifth district; and Long Mejia as board member in Bulacan’s first district.

Former actress Precious Hipolito-Castelo lost to Raffy Tulfo’s son, Ralph, in QC’s second district.

Actress Angelu de Leon (second from left) has been proclaimed as one of the councilors in Pasig City’s second district.

Robin’s brother, actor and producer Rommel Padilla did not have the same luck as his. He faced defeat after vying for a congressional seat in the first district of Nueva Ecija.

Those who fell behind in the election race also included Jukebox Queen Imelda Papin (governor, Camarines Sur); actress Claudine Barretto (councilor, Olongapo City); singer and beauty queen Ali Forbes (councilor, QC); comedian Roderick Paulate (councilor, QC); Arci Muñoz (councilor, Cainta, Rizal); Dennis Padilla (councilor, Caloocan City); actor Bobby Andrews (councilor, QC); and actress Melissa Mendez (councilor, QC).

Jomari Yllana gets reelected as first district councilor of Parañaque City. He is joined by girlfriend Abby Viduya during the proclamation

Beauty queen Shamcey Supsup (of ARTE Partylist) and singer Mocha Uson and Michelle Gumabao (Mothers for Change Partylist) received lower votes.

vuukle comment


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with