PSA honors ’12 sports achievers tonite
Rosalinda L. Orosa (The Philippine Star) - March 16, 2013 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines - The Philippine Sportswriters Association honors the best and the brightest athletes of Year 2012 in elaborate rites tonight with boxers Nonito Donaire Jr. and Josie Gabuco along with a pair of champion teams in Ateneo Blue Eagles and Manila women’s sotfbelles sharing the coveted Athlete of the Year award in the PSA Milo Annual Awards Night at the Manila Hotel.

Donaire will be receiving his third Athlete of the Year award from the PSA, having been the recipient of the same plum in 2007 and 2011, respectively, which he shared with swimmer Miguel Molina and pool great Dennis Orcollo.

Gabuco, Ateneo Blue Eagles, and the Manila women’s softball team are first time winners of the prestigious trophy by the country’s oldest and largest sports organization.

The event, set at 7:30 p.m., will have sportsman-businessman Mikee Romero serves as guest of honor and speaker with the country’s top sports officials headed by Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president Jose “Peping” Cojuangco and Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman Richie Garcia gracing the blue-ribbon affair.

Basketball great Benjie Paras and Ai Dela Cruz will host the event with live performances to be provided by the lovely Isabelle De Leon.

Long-time PSA partner DZSR Sports Radio 918 will broadcast live the event presented by the PSC, San Miguel Corp., Smart, Philippine Basketball Association, Globalport 900, Rain or Shine, LBC, Meralco, Senator Chiz Escudero, SM Prime Holdings, and ICTSI and Philippine Golf Tour.

Also to be handed out during the two-hour, special ceremony are major awards in various sports, President’s Award (Smart Gilas Pilipinas), Executive of the Year (Chito Salud), NSAs of the Year (SBP and NGAP), Mr. Football (Chieffy Caligdong and Eduard Sacapano), Outstanding High School Players (Axel Toni Ngui and Kirsten Chloe Daos), Tony Siddayao Award, and special citations.

A minute of silence will also be offered to prominent athletes and friends of sports who passed away last year.

2012 PSA Final List of Awardees

Athletes of the year

Philippines - Nonito Donaire Jr./Team Manila women’s softball team

Josie Gabuco/Ateneo Blue Eagles team

President’s award

Smart Pilipinas

Executive of the year

Chito Salud

Major awardees

Mary Grace Delos Santos (athletics), Brian Viloria (boxing),

Johnriel Casimero (boxing), Donnie Nietes (boxing),

Sonny Boy Jaro (boxing), Baler Ravina (cycling), Mark Galedo (cycling)

Tony Lascuna (pro golf), Dottie Ardina (amateur golf),

Mark Caguioa (pro basketball), Bobby Ray Parks (amateur basketball), Dragon Boat team, Princess Joanna Mae Ylanan (karate),

Hagdang Bato (horseracing), Jonathan Hernandez (horseracing), Mikaela Calamba (taekwondo), Vincent Floirendo (motorsports)

Outstanding high school players

Axel Toni Ngui, Kirsten Chloe Daos

NSAs of the year

Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP),

National Golf Association of the Philippines (NGAP)

Tony Siddayao awards

Albert Lim (tennis), Alieson Ken Omengan (wushu),

Shania Mae Mendoza (chess),

Charles Bonagua (karate), Alex Lay (karate), Jurence Mendoza (tennis), Princess Superal (golf), Jed Dy (golf),

Malvinne Alcala (badminton), Mark Shelley Alcala (badminton),

Mark Reggie Flores (motocross), Michael Christian Martinez (skating), Clark Cruz (powerlifting)

Mr football

Chieffy Caligdong , Ed Sacapano


Kenneth San Andres (motocross), Johnny Arcilla (tennis),

men’s 4x4 relay team (athletics SEA Games gold medalists),

Erlinda Lavandia (athletics), Jessie Aligaga, Denbert Arcita (wushu),

Frankie Minoza (golf), Jayvee Agojo (golf), Monica Torres (triathlon),

August Benedicto (triathlon), Mirasol Abad (duathlon),

Oliver Barbosa (chess), Johan Aguilar (swimming),

Raniel Resuello (superbikes), VJ Suba (karting), Alaska sports, AKTV


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with