PNoy awards heroic fire officer who lost 2 kids to 'Yolanda'

Louis Bacani - Philstar.com

MANILA, Philippines - President Benigno Aquino III on Monday awarded this year's outstanding public servants and employees including a female fire officer who responded to the call of duty in the face of tragedy.

In a ceremony in Malacañang, Aquino conferred the Presidential Lingkod Bayan, Dangal ng Bayan and Pag-asa awards to 28 individuals and two groups.

Among the awardees is Trixie Dagame, Fire Officer II of the Bureau of Fire Protection Regional Office No. 8 in Tacloban City.

Dagame received the Dangal ng Bayan Award, which is conferred to an individual for performing extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior.

Aquino praised Dagame for being true to her mandate during the onslaught of Typhoon Yolanda in 2013 even if her two children were among the fatalities.

"Kay Trixie Dagame, sa kanyang walang alinlangang pagtupad sa tungkulin bilang kawani ng Bureau of Fire Protection ng Tacloban City noong humagupit ang bagyong Yolanda," Aquino said.

"Talaga pong kahanga-hanga: Pumanaw man ang kanyang isang taon at limang buwang gulang na anak dahil sa kalamidad, buong-loob pa rin siyang nagreport sa trabaho kinabukasan para rumesponde sa nangyaring sunog sa isang komunidad po doon," the president added.

Dagame and other Dangal ng Bayan awardees received a trophy designed by National Artist for Sculpture Napoleon Abueva and a cash prize of P200,000.

The complete list of the 2015 outstanding public servants and employees:

Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award

  • Teodora B. Balangcod, Professor III, University of the Philippines, Baguio City
  • Alma C. Dickson, Agricultural Center Chief IV, Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources, Quezon City
  • Arsenio B. Ella, Scientist III, Forest Products Research and Development Institute – Department of Science and Technology, Los Baños, Laguna
  • Dina A. Genzola, Senior Agriculturist, Office of the Provincial Agriculturist – Provincial Government of Negros Occidental, Bacolod City
  • Roberto C. Guarte, Professor VI, Visayas State University, Baybay City, Leyte
  • Julius A. Lecciones, Executive Director III, Philippine Children’s MedicalCenter, Quezon City
  • Lilibeth B. Martin, Medical Technologist II, Provincial Health Office – Provincial Government of Abra, Bangued, Abra
  • Amer A. Saber, Medical Center Chief I, Amai Pakpak Medical Center, Marawi City, Lanao del Sur
  • Gilbert C. Sosa, Police Senior Superintendent, Philippine National Police, Quezon City
  • Cecilia B. Vidoy, Special Education Teacher I, Rabat-Rocamora Mati Central School SPED Center, Mati City, Davao Oriental
  • Jonar I. Yago, Professor IV, Nueva Vizcaya State University, Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya

Dangal ng Bayan Award for ethical public service

  • Menia S. Alvidera, Education Program Supervisor, Department of Education Division of Roxas City, City of Roxas, Capiz
  • Maria Daisy O. Bercede, State Auditor IV, Commission on Audit Regional Office No. 7, Cebu City
  • Vivencio B. Claros, Jail Officer II, Bureau of Jail Management and Penology, Rodriguez, Rizal
  • Trixie M. Dagame, Fire Officer II, Bureau of Fire Protection Regional Office No. 8, Tacloban City
  • Roy A. Esteron, Truck Driver, National Food Authority Quirino Provincial Office, Cabarroguis, Quirino
  • Juvy S. Gaton, Information Officer II, Department of Agriculture Regional Field Office No. 6, Iloilo City
  • Jo Anne D. Haber, Director IV, Office of the President, San Miguel, Manila
  • Mario V. Navasero, Scientist I, University of the Philippines, Los Baños, Laguna

Pag-asa Award for outstanding work performance

  • Danny C. Cachola, Elementary School Principal II, Matucay Elementary School, Allacapan, Cagayan
  • Jinglebert P. Collado, Teacher I, Department of Education Division of Davao del Norte, Tagum City, Davao del Norte
  • Gloria M. De La Cruz, Agricultural Center Chief IV, Philippine Carabao Center – DMMMSU Campus, Rosario, La Union
  • Virgilio M. Fuertes, Senior Science Research Specialist, Department of Science and Technology Regional Office No. 10, Cagayan de Oro City
  • Eunice A. Layugan, Associate Professor V, Cagayan State University Aparri, Aparri, Cagayan
  • Luz R. Marcelino, Chief Science Research Specialist, Department of Agriculture Regional Office No. 5, Pili, Camarines Sur
  • Albert G. Ramos, Senior Water Resources Facility Technician, Plaridel Water District, Plaridel, Bulacan
  • Ernesto F. Rivera, Information Technology Officer II, Philippine Health Insurance Corporation, Pasig City
  • Mary Anne T. Timbreza, Civil Registrar, Municipal Government of Tayum, Poblacion Tayum, Abra
  • COMELEC – ITD iREHISTRO Team, Commission on Election Manila
  • Office for Agricultural Services (Rice Group), Provincial Government of Kalinga, Tabuk City, Kalinga

vuukle comment












  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with