IN PHOTOS: Cinemalaya 2014 awarding ceremony

Chuck Smith, Jonathan Asuncion (The Philippine Star) - August 11, 2014 - 3:58am

MANILA, Philippines – A controversy may have rocked it, but the awards night of the 10th Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival remained to be a star-studded affair.

READ: Nora Aunor, Eula Valdez win big at 2014 Cinemalaya awards night

The awarding ceremony was held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines in Pasay City on Sunday, August 10.

Gretchen Barretto at the 2014 Cinemalaya awarding ceremony. JONATAN ASUNCION

Gretchen Barretto, partner of Cinemalaya Foundation chairman Tonyboy Cojuangco, graced the event. However, she refused to grant interviews with the press.

Nora Aunor tells her fans: "Kung hindi po dahil sa kanila, wala po ako dito sa harapan ninyo ngayon." JONATHAN ASUNCION

Nora Aunor also attended the ceremony to receive her Best Actress award in the Directors Showcase category for her role in Joel Lamangan's “Hustisya.” She attended with “Hustisya” writer Ricky Lee. Others winners in the acting categories include theater actress Cris Villonco (Directors Showcase Best Supporting Actress), Nicco Manalo (Directors Showcase Best Supporting Actor), Barbie Forteza (New Breed Best Supporting Actress), Migs Cuaderno (New Breed Best Supporting Actor), and Eula Valdez (New Breed Best Actress).

Cris Villonco is the niece of "Hari ng Tondo" director Carlitos Siguion-Reyna. JONATHAN ASUNCION

Barbie Forteza quipped during her acceptance speech: Actually ang goal ko lang, Best in Hair and Make-up, e.” JONATHAN ASUNCION

Eula Valdez bested a number of established stars in the New Breed Best Actress award category, including Ai-Ai delas Alas (Ronda), Mylene Dizon (Mariquina). JONATHAN ASUNCION

The young stars of Gino Santos' “#Y—particularly, Elmo Magalona, Coleen Garcia, Sophie Albert, and Kit Thompson—received a special citation for ensemble acting. Only Sophie was present to accept the award, along with director Santos and co-star Chynna Ortaleza.

Michael Tuviera, son of TAPE Inc. chairman Tony Tuviera, and Giancarlo Abrahan were named the festival best directors. Hannah Espia, producer of "Dagitab" accepted the award for Abrahan.

"The Janitor" director Michael Tuviera commended his star Dennis Trillo's performance in the movie. "I think this is one of your best performances in your career," he said. JONATHAN ASUNCION

Here are more photos from the awarding ceremony of the 10th Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival (photos by Jonathan Asuncion):

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with