Young tanker, jin to get PSA Milo awards
(The Philippine Star) - February 9, 2016 - 9:00am

MANILA, Philippines – A multi-titled swimmer and a rising taekwondo jin emerged as the top choices for the Milo Junior Male and Female Athletes of the Year in Saturday’s gala night of the Philippine Sportswriters Association at the One Esplanade in Pasay City.

Kyla Soguilon and Justine Kobe Macario are the latest recipients of the special award given to young outstanding athletes by the country’s oldest media organization during its Annual Awards Night co-presented by San Miguel Corp. and Milo.

This marks the fourth straight year the sportswriting community is partnering with the Olympic energy drink in recognizing promising athletes whose achievements and excellence help inspire the Filipino youth.

Milo sports executive Andrew Neri cited Soguilon and Macario for “exemplifying the values of leadership, disciple, perseverance, and integrity in life through their exceptional athleticism in their respective sports.”

A prominent member of the Philippine Swimming League, Soguilon had a banner year in 2015 which saw her win in a various meets both local and international, including the Milo Little Olympics national finals with four golds.

For his part, Macario bannered the country’s campaign in the first Asian Cadet Taekwondo Poomsae Championships in Chinese Taipei. He won two golds in the cadet freestyle individual and the cadet team competitions.

Macario and Soguilon are part of the total 111 awardees to be recognized during the formal rites with the Philippine Sports Commission as major sponsor and supported by long-time friends of sports such as Smart, MVP Foundation, Maynilad, SM Prime Holdings, Sen. Chiz Escudero, Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp., Philippine Basketball Association, Globalport, Rain or Shine, One Esplanade and National University.  

On top of the honor roll list are the three co-winners of the Athlete of the Year award, namely boxing champions Donnie Nietes and Nonito Donaire Jr. and rising golf star Miguel Tabuena.

Other awardees are Alaska team owner Wilfred Uytengsu Jr. (Executive of the Year), Gilas Pilipinas (President’s Award), Filomeno “Boy” Codiñera (Lifetime Achievement Award), Wushu Federation of the Philippines (National Sports Association of the Year), Alyssa Valdez (Ms. Volleyball), and the cage pair of Calvin Abueva and Terrence Romeo (Mr. Basketball).


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with