GMA appointed House deputy speaker
(The Philippine Star) - August 16, 2016 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines - Former president and now Pampanga congresswoman Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo is now a deputy speaker of the House of Representatives.

She was among four others nominated early last night on top of the five incumbent deputy speakers.

The nomination was announced by House Majority Leader Rodolfo Fariñas during yesterday’s session at the Batasang Pambansa complex in Quezon City, where two more will be nominated soon as a prelude to President Duterte’s shift toward federalism.

Arroyo’s fellow deputy speakers are former senator and now Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano, AAMBIS-OWA party-list Rep. Sharon Garin, Cebu Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia and Davao City Rep. Mylene Garcia-Albano.

Aside from Arroyo and the new nominees, there are five incumbent deputy speakers – Raneo Abu of Batangas, Fredenil Castro of Capiz, Miro Quimbo of Marikina City, Mercedes Alvarez of Negros Occidental and Eric Singson of Ilocos Sur.

Abu presided over the session during the election of new deputy speakers, who took their oath of office at the House of Representatives yesterday before Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez.


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with