FAMAS Awards is regarded as the country’s oldest film industry award giving body and one of the oldest in Asia.

FULL LIST: FAMAS 2017 winners
Deni Rose M. Afinidad-Bernardo (Philstar.com) - December 29, 2017 - 12:43pm

MANILA, Philippines — The 65th Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) Awards culminated on December 28 at the Philippine Science Center Auditorium in Quezon City.

Star Cinema’s “Barcelona: A Love Untold” is considered as the biggest winner with at least four awards, including Best Picture, Best Director for Olivia Lamasan, Best Actor for Daniel Padilla, and Best Production Design for Shari Marie Montiague.

Coming in close with at least two awards is “The Unmarried Wife,” also by Star Cinema. It took home the Best Actress Award for Angelica Panganiban and Best Screenplay for Vanessa Valdez. Also taking home at least two awards is “Ringgo: The Dog Shooter, ”Best Supporting Actress for Liza Diño-Seguerra and Best Child Performer for Lance Lucido.

Established in 1951 as originally the Maria Clara Awards, FAMAS was considered as the highest award in the Filipino filmmaking industry whose winners are determined by an organization of writers and columnists. It is also regarded as the country’s oldest film industry award giving body, and one of the oldest in Asia.

Here is the complete list of winners (in bold) and nominees this year.

Best Picture 
“The Unmarried Wife“
“Everything About Her” 
“Barcelona: A Love Untold”
“Ringgo: The Dog Shooter”

Best Director 
Maryo J Delos Reyes, “The Unmarried Wife” 
Joyce Bernal, “Everything About Her” 
Olivia M. Lamasan, “Barcelona: A Love Untold” 
Rahyan Carlos, “Ringgo: The Dog Shooter” 
Mel Chionglo, “Iadya Mo Kami”

Best Actress 
Angelica Panganiban, “The Unmarried Wife” 

Angel Locsin, “Everything About Her” 
Karthyn Bernardo, “Barcelona: A Love Untold” 
Janice De Belen, “Ringgo: The Dog Shooter”

Best Actor 
Dingdong Dantes, “The Unmarried Wife” 
Daniel Padilla, “Barcelona: A Love Untold” 
Joshua Garcia, “Vince & Kath & James” 
Joem Bascon, “Kusina” 
Sandino Martin, “Ringgo: The Dog Shooter”

Best Supporting Actress 
Dimples Romana, “The Unmarried Wife” 
Aiko Melendez, “Barcelona: A Love Untold” 
Liza Diño-Seguerra, “Ringgo: The Dog Shooter” 
Meg Imperial, “Higanti”
Marielle Therese, “Ku’te”

Best Supporting Actor 
Paulo Avelino, “The Unmarried Wife”
Joshua Garcia, “Barcelona: A Love Untold” 
Ronnie Alonte, “Vince & Kath & James” 
Ricky Davao, “Iadya Mo Kami” 
Nico Gomez, “Ku’te”

Best Child Performer 
Lei Navarro, “The Unmarried Wife” 
Sean Gabriel, “Everything About Her” 
AJ Urquia, “Vince & Kath & James” 
Lance Lucido, “Ringgo: The Dog Shooter”

Best Screenplay 
Vanessa Valdez, “The Unmarried Wife” 

Irene Emma Villamor, “Everything About Her” 
Carmi Raymundo and Olivia Lamasan, “Barcelona: A Love Untold” 
Daisy Cayanan, Kim Noromor and Anjanette Haw, “Vince & Kath & James” 
Robby Tantingco, “Area”

Best Editing 
Tara Illenberger, “The Unmarried Wife” 
Marya Ignacio and Joyce Bernal, “Everything About Her” 
Marya Ignacio, “Barcelona: A Love Untold” 
Thop Nazareno, “Kusina” 
Jesus Navarro, “Iadya Mo Kami” 
Beng Bandong, “Vince & Kath & James”

Best Sound 
Arnel Labayo, “The Unmarried Wife” 
Aurel Claro Bilbao, “Everything About Her” 
Aurel Claro Bilbao, “Barcelona: A Love Untold” 
Aurel Claro Bilbao, “Vince & Kath & James” 
Raffy Magsaysay, “Kusina”

Best Theme Song 
“Someday” by Juris, “The Unmarried Wife” 
“Something I Need” by Piolo Pascual and Morissette, “Everything About Her” 
“Hey Crush” by Joshua Garcia, “Vince & Kath & James” 
“Higanti” by Demie Fresco, “Higanti” 
“Sana Ako Nalang” by Robert Delgado, “Ku’te”

Best Production Design 
Winston Acuyong, “The Unmarried Wife” 
Joey Luna, “Everything About Her” 
Shari Marie Montiague, “Barcelona: A Love Untold”
Aimi Geraldine Gamboa, “Vince & Kath & James” 
Ericson Navarro, “Kusina”

Special Awards

Arturo M. Padua Memorial Award – Ronald King Constantino 
Fpj Memorial Award – Dingdong Dantes 
Dr. Jose Perez Memorial Award – Dolly Ann Carvajal 
German Moreno Youth Achievement Award – Maine Mendoza and Ivan Dorschner 
Lifetime Achievement Award – Susan Roces and Amalia Fuentes

Outstanding Producer – Donna Sanchez 
Producer Par Excellence - Alfredo D. Vargas III

Famas Award of Recognition – Citizens Crime Watch 

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with