COMPLETE LIST: 40th Gawad Urian Awards winners

Deni Rose M. Afinidad-Bernardo - Philstar.com
COMPLETE LIST: 40th Gawad Urian Awards winners

40th Gawad Urian winners   Philstar.com/Efigenio Christopher Toledo IV

MANILA, Philippines — A mix of young and veteran, expected and unexpected winners turned up at the 40th Gawad Urian Awards on Thursday night, July 20, at the Studio 10 of ABS-CBN.
ABS-CBN executive Charo Santos-Concio, nominated for Best Actress, said in her opening remarks that she started her movie career in 1976, the same year when Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MMP) was born. The following year, the Manunuri founded the Urian and Charo was nominated for her first movie, "Itim."
She believes that to this day, despite its surprising results, the Urian has been the country's most prestigious and most credible award-giving body for its meticulous analysis of films, following the same standards that have been unchanged in the last 40 years. 
"Ito ang nag-iisang award-giving body na may sariling mundo," Charo quipped. "May sarili itong panlasa, sariling tatak at paninindigan...ang lahat ng ito ang nagpapatingkad ng kasaysayan ng pelikulang Pilipino."
Though the Manunuri's criteria have remained faithful to the original, Urian Chairman Tito Valiente said the awards try to keep up by the times and since over 70 Filipino films received international honors in 2016 alone, the Urian, this year, also gave Best Documentary and Best Short Film awards to recognize Filipinos' rising popularity in these genres.
The Manunuri also welcomed Film Development Council of the Philippines chair Liza Diño as a new member. 
Following the speeches, 1995 Best Actress nominee Lea Salonga performed a medley of soundtracks from past Urian winners, "Karnal," "Agila," and her own movie with Aga Muhlach, "Sana Maulit Muli," which coincides with Aga's recent controversial letter to Lea, referring to her as "the one that got away."
Manunuri member Butch Francisco hosted the awards alongside Jodi Sta. Maria, who was twice nominated for Best Actress, and Billy Crawford, who received a citation for Best Supporting Actor in "Pahiram ng Isang Umaga."
Billy presented the Natatanging Gawad or Lifetime Achievement award to his mom in "Pahiram ng Isang Umaga," Vilma Santos. 
Posthumous tributes were also given to Wenn Deramas, German Moreno, Gil Portes, Lilia Cuntapay, Joy Viado, Dick Israel, Lolita Rodriguez, Willy Cruz, Romeo Vasquez, and other industry movers and shakers who recently passed away.
In honor of the nominees, award recipients and fallen industry mavericks, Gary Valenciano, Jona, Erik Santos and Rey Valera rendered classics from the soundtracks of past Urian-winning and nominated movies.
The awards ended with the traditional parade of winners, listed here in bold:

Best Picture

  • "Pamilya Ordinaryo"
  • "Paglipay"
  • "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • "Women of the Weeping River"
  • "Ma Rosa"
  • "Baboy Halas"

Best Director

  • Brilliante Mendoza for "Ma Rosa"
  • Eduardo W. Roy Jr. for "Pamilya Ordinaryo"
  • Zig Madamba Dulay for "Paglipay"
  • Lav Diaz for "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • Bagane Fiola for "Baboy Halas"
  • Paolo Villaluna for "Pauwi Na"
  • Avid Liongoren for "Saving Sally"
  • Sheron Dayoc for "Women of the Weeping River"
  • Lemuel Lorca for "Ned's Project"

Best Actor

  • Tommy Abuel for "Dagsin"
  • Bembol Roco for "Pauwi Na"
  • Gerry Cabalic for "Paglipay"
  • Khalil Ramos for "2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten"
  • Paolo Ballesteros for "Die Beautiful"
  • Ronwald Martin for "Pamilya Ordinaryo"
  • Pepe Smith for "Singing in Graveyards"

Best Actress

  • Nora Aunor for "Hinulid"
  • Laila Ulao for "Women of the Weeping River"
  • Jaclyn Jose for "Ma Rosa"
  • Cherry Pie Picache for "Pauwi Na"
  • Ai Ai delas Alas for "Area"
  • Charo Santos-Concio for "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • Elizabeth Oropesa for "MRS"
  • Irma Adlawan for "Oro"
  • Hasmine Kilip for "Pamilya Ordinaryo"
  • Angeli Bayani for "Ned's Project"

Best Supporting Actor

  • Taha Daranda for "Women of the Weeping River"
  • Christian Bables for "Die Beautiful"
  • Jess Mendoza for "Hinulid"
  • John Lloyd Cruz for "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • Nonie Buencamino for "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • Julio Diaz for "Ma Rosa"

Best Supporting Actress

  • Rhed Bustamante for "Seklusyon"
  • Barbie Forteza for "Tuos"
  • Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans for "Women of the Weeping River"
  • Anna Luna for "Paglipay"
  • Joan Dela Cruz for "Paglipay"
  • Lui Manansala for "Ned's Project"
  • Lotlot de Leon for "MRS"
  • Meryll Soriano for "Pauwi Na"
  • Ma. Zimadar Caranay-Raper for "Women of the Weeping River"
  • Janine Gutierrez for "Dagsin"

Best Screenplay

  • Lemuel Lorca and John Paul Bedia for "Ned's Project"
  • Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos for "Pauwi Na"
  • Sheron Dayoc for  "Women of the Weeping River"
  • Zig Madamba Dulay for "Paglipay"
  • Troy Espiritu for "Ma Rosa"
  • Fatrick Tabada for "Patay na si Jesus"
  • Lav Diaz for "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • Eduardo Roy Jr. for "Pamilya Ordinaryo"

Best Cinematography

  • "Women of the Weeping River"
  • "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • "Ma Rosa"
  • "Paglipay"
  • "Tuos"
  • "Baboy Halas"
  • "Pamilya Ordinaryo"

Best Production Design

  • "Ma Rosa"
  • "Die Beautiful"
  • "Ned's Project"
  • "Women of the Weeping River"
  • "Pamilya Ordinaryo"
  • "Paglipay"
  • "Saving Sally"
  • "Hinulid"
  • "Baboy Halas"

Best Editing

  • "Women of the Weeping River"
  • "Ma Rosa"
  • "Pauwi Na"
  • "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • "Pamilya Ordinaryo"
  • "Paglipay"
  • "Die Beautiful"

Best Music

  • "Paglipay"
  • "Women of the Weeping River"
  • "Saving Sally"
  • "Pauwi Na"
  • "Tuos"

Best Sound

  • "Hinulid"
  • "Women of the Weeping River"
  • "Ang Babaeng Humayo"
  • "Pamilya Ordinaryo"
  • "Ma Rosa"
  • "Pagl?ipay"
  • "Baboy Halas"

Best Short Film 

  • "Nakaw"

Best Documentary 


  • "Sunday Beauty Queen"


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with