Beauty queens on the campaign trail

FUNFARE UPDATE - Ricky Lo - The Philippine Star

It’s not uncommon for celebrities, especially beauty queens and movie stars, to venture into politics. 1981 Miss Universe Irene Saez won for mayor of a town in Caracas in her native Venezuela, then for governor of Nueva Esparta and ran for president of Venezuela but lost.

Other beauties who have been there, done that:

• 1970 Miss International Aurora Pijuan ran for congressman in Makati in 1984;

• Conchitina Sevilla-Bernardo, one of Manila’s Five Prettiest in 1961-62, was elected vice mayor of Makati in 1988;

• 1968 Bb. Pilipinas-International Nini Ramos, elected Makati councilor in 1991 and Forbes Park Kagawad;

• 1963 Miss Caltex Elsa Payumo, elected Makati councilor in 1988;

• 1931-32 Carnival Queen Maria Kalaw-Katigbak, elected lone woman senator in 1961;

• 1977 Mutya Ng Pilipinas-Asia Pacific Rio Diaz, elected vice mayor of Pontevedra, Negros Occidental in 1998;

• 1989 Mutya Ng Pilipinas-World Star Querubin, elected Manila councilor;

• Nelia Sancho, 1969 Bb. Pilipinas first runner-up/1971 Queen of the Pacific, ran for the Senate in 1987; and

• 1967 Bb. Pilipinas-Universe Pilar Pilapil, ran for senator but later withdrew in 2004.

The May 9 elections are star-studded, with ex-beauty queens adding glamour and glitter to the campaign trail, among them:

1. Imelda Marcos — For representative, Second District of Ilocos Norte, for third and final term. She was 1947 Rose of Tacloban, 1947 Miss Leyte High School and 1953 Muse of Manila.

2. Daisy Reyes — For mayor of Pateros City, Independent. She served two terms as municipal councilor. She was 1995 Mutya ng Pilipinas second runner-up, 1995 Miss Expo International fourth runner-up held in Ecuador, 1996 Bb. Pilipinas World and a Top 12 semi-finalist at the 2009 Mrs. World pageant in Vietnam.

3. Francis Dianne Cervantes — For councilor, First District of Hagonoy, Bulacan, for her third and final term. She was 2006 Miss Philippines Fire (third runner-up) and Miss Golden Sunset Resort.

4. Jenny Esplana (real name: Jennifer Perez Pingree) — For councilor, First District of Valenzuela City, NPC, for her second term. A 1990 Bb. Pilipinas-International and Miss Camay. Jenny is the wife of former Councilor Gerry Esplana, once a PBA cager and a college coach.

5. Azenith Briones — For board member, Third District of Laguna, LP. She was 1975 Mutya ng Pilipinas second runner-up and 1976 Bb. Pilipinas semi-finalist.

6. Jennifer Cruz — For vice mayor of Pola, Oriental Mindoro, LP.  Known as Ina Alegre in showbiz, she was 2015 Mrs. Universe Philippines, and a finalist and Mrs. Superstar in the 2015 Mrs. Universe held in Belarus. — With a report by Celso de Guzman Caparas

(E-mail reactions at entphi[email protected]. You may also send your questions to [email protected]. For more updates, photos and videos visit www.philstar.com/funfare or follow me on www.twitter/therealrickylo.)

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with