Marian Rivera, Coco Martin lead winners of 27th Star Awards for TV

Chuck Smith - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines – Kapuso actress Marian Rivera and Kapamilya actors Coco Martin and Richard Yap are among the top winners at the 27th PMPC Star Awards for TV held at the AFP Theater in Quezon City o Sunday, November 24.

Marian was named Best Drama Actress for her performance in “Temptation of Wife.” The GMA-7 star bested seven other actresses including Nora Aunor (for “Never Say Goodbye”), Judy Ann Santos (for “Huwag Ka Lang Mawawala”), and Carla Abellana (for “My Husband’s Lover).

It’s been a good year for Marian, who won an acting award for her portrayal in the 2012 primetime series “Amaya” earlier this year. She is also nominated for an Asian TV Award for her role in “Temptation of Wife.”

Meanwhile, Coco Martin (“Juan dela Cruz”) and Richard Yap (“Be Careful with My Heart”) tied for the Best Drama Actor award.

“Juan dela Cruz” won the Best Primetime Drama Series award, while “Be Careful With My Heart” won the Best Daytime Drama Series award.

The Best Drama Supporting Actress award went to KC Concepcion, for her role in “Huwag Ka Lang Mawawala.” Young stars Arjo Atayde of “Dugong Buhay” and Arron Villaflor of “Juan Dela Cruz” received the Best Drama Supporting Actor.

Nikki Gil received the Best Single Performance for an Actress award for her work in the “Ilog” episode of ABS-CBN’s drama anthology series “Maalaala Mo Kaya.”

Michael V and Rufa Mae Quinto were named Best Comedy Actor and Best Comedy Actress for “Bubble Gang,” while “Pepito Manoloto” won Best Comedy Show.

TV5 won three awards overall: Best Children Show (“Batibot”), Best Talent Search Program (“Talentadong Pinoy Worldwide”), and Best Female Showbiz Oriented Talk Show Host (Cristy Fermin for “Ang Latest”).

ABS-CBN and GMA-7 were both named Best TV Station, with the Kapamilya network winning 31 awards out of 56 categories (including four ties).

Here are other winners of the 27th Star Awards for TV:

Best Drama Anthology: Magpakailanman (GMA-7)
Best Child Performer: Andrea Brillantes (Annaliza)
Best New Male TV Personality: Ruru Madrid
Best New Female Personality: Janella Salvador
Best Gag Show: Banana Split (ABS-CBN) and Bubble Gang (GMA-7)
Best Musical Variety Show: ASAP 18
Best Variety Show: It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN)
Best Female TV Host: Anne Curtis (It’s Showtime)
Best Male TV Host: Billy Crawford (It’s Showtime)
Best Public Affairs Program: Imbestigador (GMA-7)
Best Public Affairs Program Host: Vicky Morales (Wish Ko Lang)
Best Horror/Fantasy Program: Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN)
Best Reality Competition Program: Extra Challenge (GMA-7)
Best Reality Competition Program Host: Judy Ann Santos (Mastef Chef Pinoy Edition)
Best Game Show: Celebrity Bluff (GMA-7)
Best Game Show Host: Luis Manzano (Deal or No Deal)
Best Talent Search Program Host: Robi Domingo, Alex Gonzaga, and Toni Gonzaga (The Voice of the Philippines)
Best Youth Oriented Program: LUV U (ABS-CBN)
Best Educational Program: Born To Be Wild (GMA-7)
Best Educational Program Host: Kim Atienza (Matanglawin)
Best Celebrity Talk Show: Kris TV
Best Celebrity Talk Show Host: Vice Ganda (Gandang Gabi Vice)
Best Documentary Program: I-Witness (GMA-7)
Best Documentary Program Host: Kara David, Sandra Aguinaldo, Howie Severino, and Jay Taruc (I-Witness)
Best Magazine Show: I Juander (GMA News TV)
Best Magazine Show Host: Jessica Soho (Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho)
Best News Program: State of the Nation (GMA News TV)
Best Male Newscaster: Julius Babao (TV Patrol)
Best Female Newscaster: Karen Davila (Bandila)
Best Morning Show: Umagang Kay Ganda (ABS-CBN)
Best Morning Show Host: The hosts of Unang Hirit (GMA-7)
Best Public Affairs Program: The Bottomline with Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)
Best Public Affairs Program Host: Boy Abunda (The Bottomline with Boy Abunda)
Best Showbiz Oriented Talk Show: Startalk (GMA-7)
Best Make Showbiz Oriented Talk Show Host: Ogie Diaz (Showbiz Inside Report)
Best Travel Show: Biyahe Ni Drew (GMA News TV)
Best Travel Show Host: Richard Gutierrez (Pinoy Adventures)
Best Lifestyle Show: Convergence (NET 25)
Best Lifestyle Show Host: Solenn Heussaff (Fashbook)

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with