Nora wins 2013 Urian Best Actress award, Jericho Best Actor

Dexter Rodrigo Matilla (The Philippine Star) - June 19, 2013 - 12:58am

MANILA, Philippines - Superstar Nora Aunor went home with the 36th Gawad Urian Best Actress trophy for her performance in the Brillante Mendoza-directed “Thy Womb” during the awards ceremony Tuesday night at the NBC Tent in Bonifacio Global City. It is Aunor's seventh award in the category, just one short of Vilma Santos.

Watch her acceptance speech below:

Best Actor, meanwhile, went to Jericho Rosales for “Alagwa”.

“Naniniwala po ako na magniningning muli ang pelikulang Pilipino,” Rosales, a first timer in the Urian Awards, said during his speech. “At gusto ko maging parte noon.”

Alessandra de Rossi, on her fifth try, finally won an Urian as she was awarded the Best Supporting Actress trophy for “Sta. Niña”. For this year, she was also nominated in the same category for “Mater Dolorosa” and as Best Actress for “Baybayin.”

Multi-awarded actor Art Acuña brought home the Best Supporting Actor award for “Posas” where he portrays a corrupt cop.

Best Film went to director Arnel Mardoquio's "Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim". In his speech, Mardoquio brought to task the lack of policy in the Philippine government, stating that while independent films gain recognition outside the country, very few Filipinos watch them here.

"Dapat magkaroon ng political will ang gobyerno," Mardoquio said. "Para matutong tumangkilik ang ating mga kababayan sa pelikulang Pilipino."

The awards ceremony was hosted by Iza Calzado, Cherie Gil, Richard Gomez,  Xian Lim, and Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino judge Butch Francisco.

Below is the complete list of 2013 Gawad Urian winners:

Best Documentary: Benito Bautista’s "Harana"
Best Short Film: Remton Siega Zuasola’ s “Ritmo"
Best Sound: Willy Fernandez, Bong Sungcang, Ferdinand Marcos Sabarongis for "Florentina Hubaldo"
Best Music: Diwa de Leon for "Baybayin"
Best Editing: Aleks Castaneda for "Kalayaan"
Best Production Design: Brillante Mendoza for "Thy Womb"
Natatanging Gawad Urian: Mila del Sol
Best Cinematography: Whammy Alcazaren for "Colossal"
Best Screenplay: Mes de Guzman for "Diablo"
Best Director: Adolfo Alix Jr. for "Mater Dolorosa"
Best Supporting Actress: Alessandra de Rossi for "Sta Niña"
Best Supporting Actor: Art Acuña for "Posas"
Best Actor: Jericho Rosales for "Alagwa"
Best Actress: Nora Aunor for "Thy Womb"
Best Film: Arnel Mardoquio’s "Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim"

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with