The 20th PMPC Star Awards for Television: And the bigger winner is...

GMA 7 may have won the top honor at the recently-concluded PMPC (Philippine Movie Press Club) 20th Star Awards for Television by romping away with the Best Station trophy in ceremonies held at the UP Theater. But in terms of awards won, ABS-CBN won more trophies – 26 all in all – versus GMA 7’s harvest of 24 awards.

So who is the bigger winner? Is it a case of quantity or quality?

It was also a night of ties — with Startalk and The Buzz sharing honors for Best Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show; Komiks and Mahiwagang Baul for Best Horror/Fantasy Program and TV Patrol World and 24 Oras for Best News Program.

Vilma Santos cried in her acceptance speech as winner of the Best Actress in a Single Performance (for the Regalo episode of Maalaala Mo Kaya), touched as she was by son Luis Manzano’s statement that he is proud to be the son of the Star for all Seasons. Luis himself went home with the Best Male TV host trophy.
The Honor Roll
Best Station – GMA 7

Best Single Performance by an Actress – Vilma Santos (Regalo, Maalaala Mo Kaya, ABS-CBN);

Best Single Performance by an Actor – Carlo Aquino (Scapular, Maalaala Mo Kaya)

Best News Program – TV Patrol World (ABS-CBN) and 24 Oras (GMA 7)

Best Female Newscaster – Vicky Morales (Saksi/GMA)

Best Travel Show Pinoy Abroad (GMA 7)

Best Magazine Show Rated K (ABS-CBN)

Best Travel Show Host – Ivan Mayrina and Rhea Santos (Pinoy Abroad/GMA 7)

Best Documentary Program The Correspondents (ABS-CBN)

Best Documentary Program Host – Karen Davila and Abner Mercado (The Correspondents)

Best Morning Show Magandang Umaga Pilipinas (ABS-CBN)

Best Morning Show Host — Julius Babao, Tin Bersola, Bernadette Sembrano, Cheryl Cosim, Ogie Diaz and Kim Atienza (Magandang Umaga Pilipinas)

Best Public Service ProgramWish Ko Lang (GMA 7)

Best Public Service Program Host – Mike Enriquez – Imbestigador (GMA 7)

Best Public Affairs Program Debate (GMA 7)

Best Public Affairs Program Host – Winnie Monsod and Oscar Orbos (Debate)

Best Celebrity Talk Show Homeboy (ABS-CBN)

Best Celebrity Talk Show Host — Boy Abunda (Homeboy)

Best Female Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host – Kris Aquino (The Buzz/ABS-CBN)

Best Male Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host – Boy Abunda (The Buzz)

Best Youth Oriented ProgramLove To Love (GMA 7)

Best Game Show Host – Arnell Ignacio (Now Na!/QTV 11)

Best New Female TV Personality — Marian Rivera (Agawin Mo Man Ang Lahat/GMA 7)

Best New Male TV Personality – Sam Milby (ASAP ‘06/ABS-CBN)

Best Gag ShowBubble Gang (GMA 7)

Best Comedy Show Bahay Mo Ba ’To? (GMA 7)

Best Comedy Actress – Rufa Mae Quinto (Hokus Pokus/GMA 7)

Best Comedy Actor – Ogie Alcasid (Bubble Gang/GMA 7)

Best Daytime Drama Series Now and Forever (GMA 7)

Best Primetime Drama Series Sa Piling Mo (ABS-CBN)

Best Drama Anthology Maalaala Mo Kaya

Best Drama Actress – Maricel Soriano (Vietnam Rose/ABS-CBN)

Best Drama Actor – Diether Ocampo (Ikaw Ang Lahat Sa Akin/ABS-CBN)

Best Reality Competition Program Extra Challenge (GMA 7)

Best Reality Competition Program Host – Paolo Bediones and Ethel Booba (Extra Challenge/GMA 7)

Best Talent Search Program StarStruck 3 (GMA 7)

Best Talent Search Program Host – Regine Velasquez (Pinoy Pop Superstar/GMA 7)

Best Variety Show Eat, Bulaga! (GMA 7)

Best Musical Variety ShowASAP ’06

Best Female TV Host – Toni Gonzaga (ASAP ’06)

Best Male TV Host – Luis Manzano (ASAP ’06)

Best Male Newscaster – Julius Babao (TV Patrol World)

Best Magazine Show Host – Korina Sanchez (Rated K)

Best Game Show Pilipinas Game KNB?

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with