Lariba leads UAAP Athletes of the Year

Olmin Leyba - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines – Rio Olympics-bound table tennis ace Ian Lariba and three other aces shared the coveted Season 78 Athlete of the Year award handed out by the UAAP last night in the closing rites at the University of the Philippines’ Ang Bahay ng Alumni.

Lariba, the first Phl table tennis player to qualify for the Olympics, was adjudged the top athlete in the individual sports category, sharing it with London Olympian swimmer Jessie Khing Lacuna of Ateneo.

Volleyball superstar Alyssa Valdez of Ateneo and Queeny Sabobo of six-peat softball champ Adamson were bestowed the AoY in the team sports category.

The UAAP adopted a change in the awarding of the AoY this time, putting up separate categories for team sports and individual sports.

Also considered for the top plum were Ateneo’s tanker Hannah Dato, judoka Monch Santiago, and volleyball stars Marck Espejo, and Ysay Marasigan, La Salle’s baseball ace Boo Barandian, and chesser Bernadette Galas, University of the East’s fencer Keren Pangilinan, National U’s cagebelle Afril Bernardino, UP’s ’ badminton standout Paola Beatriz Bernardo, and footballers Daniel Gadia and Monica Manalansan, and University of Santo Tomas’ trackster Karen Janario.

UST’s John Lloyd Osorio, the track and field MVP who collared five gold medals and two silvers spiked with two new UAAP records, netted the AoY in the juniors division.

Also feted were the MVPs and Rookies of the Year in the different sports as well as Athlete-Scholars and Athletes who represented Phl in international competitions.     

vuukle comment
  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with