Guest of honor Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea (center), PeopleAsia associate publisher Pepe Rodriguez (extreme left), editor-in-chief Joanne Rae Ramirez (extreme right) with (from left) special awardees Bases Conversion and Development Authority president and CEO Vince Dizon, Public Works and Highways Secretary Mark Villar and Budget Secretary Benjamin Diokno of ‘Build, Build, Build,’ ‘People of the Year’ awardees singer Lani Misalucha, athlete Hidilyn Diaz, Presidential Adviser on Entrepreneurship Joey Concepcion, businessmen Rikki Dee, Dennis Uy and William Belo, fashion designer Len Cabili and artist Andres Barrioquinto; Resorts World Manila’s ‘Lucky Persons of the Year’ singer KZ Tandingan and National Artist for Music Ryan Cayabyab.
‘People of the Year’
THIS WEEK ON PEOPLE ASIA - Babe Romualdez (The Philippine Star) - February 10, 2019 - 12:00am

PeopleAsia magazine’s “People of the Year” celebrates the accomplishments of men and women, regardless of age or stature, whose lives were made extraordinary by their passion, dedication, selflessness, courage, grit, determination and other admirable traits that could serve as example and inspiration to others.

This yearly tradition started in 2004, when my good friend Max Soliven, the late founding chairman and publisher of PeopleAsia, decided to give recognition to outstanding individuals from diverse fields and industries, regardless of age, gender, status in life and, yes, even political affiliation.

(From left) Vince Dizon, Secretaries Benjamin Diokno and Mark Villar with Turkish Airlines GM Erhan Balaban.

The 15th People of the Year awards recently held at the Marriott Grand Ballroom in Pasay City, which also marked the magazine’s 19th anniversary, was graced by well-heeled guests, dapper gentlemen and elegant ladies, from the diplomatic corps, business, entertainment and social circles.

Welcoming guests, including special guest of honor Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, were associate publishers Pepe Rodriguez and Kevin Belmonte, and editor-in-chief Joanne Rae Ramirez.

Our esteemed “People of the Year” awardees this year include Presidential Adviser on Entrepreneurship Joey Concepcion, who also received the Volvo Iron Mark Award; businessmen William Belo, Rikki Dee and Dennis Uy, fashion designer Len Cabili, artist Andres Barrioquinto, actress and painter Heart Evangelista-Escudero, singer Lani Misalucha and athlete Hidilyn Diaz.

(From left) Pepe Rodriguez, Udenna Corp.’s Dennis Uy, Joanne Rae Ramirez, Sara Soliven de Guzman and PeopleAsia associate publisher Kevin Belmonte.

PeopleAsia also named the men behind President Duterte’s “Build, Build, Build” program its special awardees: Public Works and Highways Secretary Mark Villar, Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III, Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade, Budget Secretary Benjamin Diokno, Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Ernesto Pernia and Bases Conversion and Development Authority president and CEO Vince Dizon.

Guests were charmed by our People’s Choice awardee Scarlet Snow Belo, who has taken social media by storm with her wit and charm. Three-year-old Scarlet, who was accompanied by her parents Dr. Hayden Kho and Dr. Vicki Belo, who was also a People of the Year awardee in 2016, is our youngest awardee to date.

This year’s Resorts World “Lucky Persons of the Year” awards were given to National Artist for Music Ryan Cayabyab and singer KZ Tandingan. Joanne Rae Ramirez and Resorts World Manila president Kingson Sian presented Cayabyab and Tandingan their plaques designed by former People of the Year awardee, renowned glass sculptor Ramon Orlina.

(From left) Volvo’s Chris Yu, Joey Concepcion, Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea and Volvo Philippines president and CEO Atty. Albert Arcilla.

Together, the Lucky Persons of the Year awardees performed Ryan Cayabyab hits Limang Dipang Tao, Better World and Paraiso.

Awardee Lani Misalucha captivated the audience with her heartfelt performance of her international release Timeless and her OPM hit Bukas Na Lang Kita Mamahalin, a crowd favorite.

The program was ably emceed by award-winning host Issa Litton in a Debbie Co gown, and the night’s ambience was set by the Marcy David Band. Ito Curata designed the shimmering coral gown of Joanne Rae Ramirez.

Guests also enjoyed a fantastic spread of sumptuous fare and flowing drinks prepared by Marriott Manila Hotel’s culinary team led by executive chef Meik Brammer.  

(People of the Year 2019 was held in cooperation with Resorts World Manila, and in partnership with Turkish Airlines, Sta. Elena Construction, Aboitiz Equity Ventures, Volvo, Salcedo Auctions, San Miguel Corp., Megaworld, Ultherapy and Merz Philippines, Frontrow International, Richprime Global Inc., The French Baker, Chelsea Logistics Holding Corp., Philippine Gaming and Amusement Corp., SM, Gan Advanced Osseointegration Center, Organique, Hotel 101, Glupa, Belo and The Philippine STAR.)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with