Budget Secretary Benjamin Diokno (third from left) leads the awarding of winners in the 2019 Philracom Commissioners’ Cup, won by Sepfourteen, represented by trainer Chito Santos (back, right) and jockey JA Guce (back, center). They are joined by (from left) MJC manager Ding Magboo, Philracom commissioner Don Bagatsing, Lucky Lea Forbes, chairman Andrew Sanchez, commissioners Bienvenido Niles Jr. and Jose Santillan and MJC assistant manager J-Fel Cuevas (back left).
Philracom honors 2018 achievers
(The Philippine Star) - January 23, 2019 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines — For their contributions to the horse-racing industry during the past year, the Philippine Racing Club Inc. and the Manila Jockey Club led the honorees at the 2019 Philippine Racing Commission (Philracom) Awards during simple rites at the San Lazaro Leisure and Business Park in Carmona, Cavite.

Manila Jockey Club chief operating officer Peter Sagala received MJC’s award as Racing Club of the Year (Based on total mount of horse prizes), while Philippine Racing Club Inc.’s racing manager Antonio Alcasid Jr. accepted the trophy for PRCI as Racing Club of the Year (Based on total gross sales of the day).

SC Stockfarm, Inc.’s Oliver Velasquez was named Philracom Stakes Races Horse Owner of the Year, while the stable’s star horse Sepfourteen was recognized as the Top Earning Horse of the Year.

Leonardo Javier Jr. was declared Horse Breeder of the Year, even as Narciso Morales was named Top Earning Horse Owner of the Year.

Taking home the most number of awards, Ruben S. Tupas was declared the Philracom Stakes Races Trainer of the Year and Top Earning Trainer of the Year.

He also accepted the award for the Philracom Stakes Races Horse of the Year – Smart Candy – which tied with Pride of Laguna, owned by Emmanuel Santos.

Meanwhile, award-winning jockeys O’Neal Cortez and Jessie Guce won the Top Earning Jockey of the Year and Stakes Races Jockey of the Year, respectively.

The 11th Manila Horse Power Organization, Inc. Anniversary Racing Festival was Most Successful Racing Festival of the Year, awarded to Ferdie Eusebio.

“These awardees stood out for the industry during a trying year. They were the bright spots and they deserve all of the accolades,” said Philracom chairman Andrew Sanchez, who was joined by his commissioners in the awards ceremonies.

The awarding was held before the 2019 Philracom Commissioner’s Cup, graced by Budget Secretary Benjamin Diokno.

Later, using its Horse of the Year award as an inspiration and motivation, Sepfourteen added another win under its belt after claiming the Commissioners’ Cup in a down-to-the-wire victory against long-time rival Electric Truth.

The tandem of jockey JA Guce and Sepfourteen played catch up from the start before turning the tide in the last 500 meters to take the lead for good.

The Leonardo Javier Jr.-owned Electric Truth gave Sepfourteen a scare after rushing from behind in the last 300m, slowly closing the gap between the two before coming up short in seizing the lead.

The Santa Clara Stockfarm-raised Sepfourteen bagged P900,000 for the win, including the P50,000 breeder’s purse and trophies, while Electric Truth took home P337,500 for a bridesmaid finish.

 Third-placer Pangalusian Island pocketed P187,500 and Mandatum earned P75,000 for fourth place.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with