Recent polls give Pangasinan ‘many firsts’

Eva Visperas - The Philippine Star

DAGUPAN CITY, Philippines — The result of the May 9 elections in different areas in Pangasinan showed a lot of “firsts” for the province.

In the central business of Dagupan, former mayor Belen Fernandez regained her post with the highest margin of 14,457 votes over her rival.

It was the first time in the city’s election history that a winning candidate garnered such an overwhelming margin of votes over her opponents.

The town of Calasiao elected its first female mayor in the person of Mamilyn Caramat, president of the Liga ng mga Barangay. She is the wife of Caraga police director Brig. Gen. Romeo Caramat Jr.

Bayambang did not only elect its first female mayor, but also its first female vice mayor in the persons of Niña Quiambao and Camille Sabangan, respectively.

Quiambao is a former competitor in the ABS-CBN reality show Pinoy Big Brother Teen 1 edition in 2006. She will replace her husband, Mayor Cezar Quiambao, as chief executive of Bayambang.

The town of Sto. Tomas elected its first son and father as mayor and vice mayor, Councilor Dickerson Villar and Mayor Timoteo Villar, respectively.

Sto. Tomas is the smallest town in Pangasinan in terms of population and land area.

For the first time, the municipality of Villasis will have a sixth-termer mayor after reelectionist Mayor Nonato Abrenica emerged victorious in the recent polls.

Abrenica previously served three successive terms. He was briefly replaced by his wife and ran again as mayor. He is currently in his third term.

Meanwhile, Mayor Arth Bryan Celeste of Alaminos town, the youngest mayor elected in the 2019 polls, won a second term.

It was the first time that Alaminos elected a mayor considered to be the youngest in the country.

In Asingan, an elected mayor and vice mayor became the first candidates to run unopposed in the town. Mayor Carlos Lopez Jr. and Vice Mayor Heidee Chua are both reelectionists.

Bani town logged its first father-daughter mayor and vice mayor team in the persons of Boying Palafox and Mayor Gwen Palafox-Yamamoto, respectively.

San Fabian town has its first couple – Marlyn Agbayani and Mayor Constante Agbayani – as mayor and vice mayor, respectively.


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with