Opposition slate Otso Diretso suffers a resounding loss

Gaea Katreena Cabico - Philstar.com
Otso Diretso
Opposition candidates running as part of Otso Diretso slate Chel Diokno, Romeo Macalintal, Samira Gutoc, Pilo Hilbay, Erin Tañada and Gary Alejano strike a post on the sidelines of nationally televised debate on CNN Philippines.
Otso Diretso

MANILA, Philippines (First published at 5:45 p.m. on May 14) — They were among the most talked about candidates on social media and among the top choices of the youth in university mock polls but no one from the opposition Otso Diretso coalition would become a senator of the country.

The senatorial aspirants, whose candidacies were backed by Vice President Leni Robredo, were nowhere in the winners’ circle dominated by allies of President Rodrigo Duterte.

Even Otso Diretso’s veteran bets incumbent Sen. Bam Aquino and former Interior chief Mar Roxas—both having managed to penetrate the winners’ circle in pre-election surveys—failed to enter the so-called “Magic 12.”

Aquino was the closest to the “Magic 12” but was kept out by actor turned lawmaker Bong Revilla, who spent recent years in detention facing plunder charges, and another re-electionist Nancy Binay. Revilla placed 11th in the final and official tally with 14,624,445 votes while Binay is ranked 12th with 14,504,936 votes.

Aquino, a cousin of former President Noynoy, ranked 14th with 14,144,923 votes in the final and official count. Ahead of him at 13th place is administration-backed candidate Sen. JV Ejercito, who was eyeing to extend his stay at the upper house, with 14,313,727 votes.

Roxas, a Liberal Party stalwart who was not as frequently seen at campaign sorties with his slate, ranked 16th with over 9.7 million votes.

Online popularity doesn’t translate to being preferred

Human rights lawyers Chel Diokno and Marawi civil leader Samira Gutoc are clear campus favorites along with Makabayan coalition bet Neri Colmenares, topping several university polls. The three—backed by their stances that run against the administration and voices that resonate with the young population—are also popular among tech-savvy millennials.

They, however, struggled to convert their online popularity to actual support of the general electorate. 

Diokno landed 21st with over 6.3 million votes, while Gutoc placed 25th with over 4.2 million votes. Colmenares, meanwhile, ranked 24th with over 4.6 million votes.

Even in pre-election surveys, Diokno and Gutoc were rejected by respondents of polling firms Social Weather Stations and Pulse Asia. In the last Pulse Asia survey before the May 13 elections, both first-time candidates placed in the 21st to the 30th bracket.

Survey laggards

The remaining Otso Diretso bets did not only struggle to make strides in the pre-election survey but also in the most important survey of the year—the midterm polls.

Magdalo Rep. Gary Alejano landed 23rd with nearly 4.7 million votes, veteran elections lawyer Romy Macalintal placed 26th with nearly 4 million votes, followed by former House Deputy Speaker Erin Tañada at 27th with over 3.8 million votes. Former Solicitor General Florin Hilbay settled at the 29th spot with over 2.7 million votes.

Diokno, Gutoc, Macalintal and Tañada accepted defeat in the Senate race Tuesday, May 14, morning.

In an interview with Philstar.com last year, political analyst Dennis Coronacion said an administration party—PDP-Laban—awash with campaign resources and the massive popularity of President Rodrigo Duterte would mean tough times for the opposition.

“What makes it more difficult for the opposition is that the president continues to enjoy huge public support as shown in his recent trust and approval ratings,” Coronacion had said.

Editor's note: We have updated this story to reflect the final and official results.





  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with
no session for state
no session for code
no session for id_token
no session for user