Entertainment Skinning Left, pagematch: , sectionmatch: 1
Entertainment ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

The Box-Office Entertainment Awards

imageGuillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation Inc.

Let me hear you say that in one breath. I know it’s quite a mouthful so I don’t blame you for tripping over that. In fact, in the annual Box-Office King and Queen Awards presentation, the winners never get around to saying that correctly in their acceptance speeches.

Many years ago, Vandolph Quizon, after being selected Most Popular Child Star, got his tongue so twisted trying to say the name of the organization that he gave up midway in his speech and ended up thanking "the people behind Guillermo Memorial Park."

The Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation Inc. was set up decades ago by a Bulacan businesswoman named Corazon Samaniego. She named it in honor of her late father, Guillermo Mendoza, once a Bulacan town mayor and philanthropist.

Every year, Mrs. Samaniego puts up the Box-Office King and Queen Awards to recognize the most popular people in the entertainment profession. Proceeds from the TV rights and gate receipts go to a fund used to send poor students to school from Bulacan.

On March 19 at the RCBC Plaza, the most popular on TV and in the movies will again be honored in ceremonies to be aired live by ABS-CBN. It will no longer be called Box-Office King and Queen Awards, but simply Box-Office Entertainment Awards.

There will also be revisions in some of the categories. The organization, for instance, has done away with the Mr. and Miss RP Movies titles. In its place are Film Actor and Actress of the Year.

Below is the complete list of winners in the 2005 Box-Office Entertainment Awards.

• Box-Office King – Vic Sotto

• Box-Office Queen – Kristine Hermosa

• Film Actors of the Year – Aga Muhlach and John Lloyd Cruz

• Film Actress of the Year – Zsa Zsa Padilla

• Prince of Philippine Movies & TV – Richard Gutierrez

• Princess of Philippine Movies & TV – Angel Locsin

• Male Entertainer of the Year – Ogie Alcasid

• Female Entertainer of the Year – Regine Velasquez

• Male Recording Star of the Year – Christian Bautista

• Female Recording Star of the Year – Sarah Geronimo

• Most Popular Recording Group – M.Y.M.P.

• Most Promising Recording Group – Orange & Lemons

• Most Popular Loveteam – Mark Herras and Jennylyn Mercado

• Most Promising Male Star – Jose Manalo

• Most Promising Female Star – Toni Gonzaga

• Most Promising Male Singer – Sam Milby

• Most Promising Female Singer – Yasmien Kurdi

• Dance Group of the Year – Sexbomb Dancers

• Most Popular Novelty Singer – Vhong Navarro

• Most Popular Child Performer – BJ "Tolits" Forbes

• Most Popular Child Performers (cast/ensemble) – Cast of Mga Angel Na Walang Langit

• Most Popular Film Producer – Star Cinema

• Most Popular Screenwriters – Shaira Salvador and Ricky Lee

• Most Popular Film Director – Rory Quintos

• Most Popular TV Program – Encantadia

• Most Popular TV Director – Mark Reyes and Gil Tejada

Special Awards:

• Bert Marcelo Lifetime Achievement Award – Bayani Agbayani

• People’s Hero Award – Manny Pacquiao

• Phenomenal TV Program of the Year – Pinoy Big Brother

Entertainment ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
  • Follow Us:
Entertainment ( Leaderboard Bottom ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
Entertainment Skinning Right, pagematch: , sectionmatch: 1