Mabolo parish church

CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal - The Freeman

In the book, “Breve Resena de lo que fue y de lo que es la Diocesis de Cebu en las Islas Filipinas” by Pbro. D. Felipe Redondo y Sendino in 1886, the parish represents the Town of Talamban. The town is part of the Vicariate of Southern Cebu, the fourteen parishes were administered by the Calced Augustinian Fathers. This is the English translation of the book on the said town (translated from Spanish into English by Ms. Azucena L. Pace):

“This parish was erected by Diocesan decree on April 3, 1850, through Royal approval on December 9, 1847; it is under the patronage of ST. Joseph,-it was a visita (small chapel which serves as mission station or outpost visited by a missionary at least once a year). Church: made of tabique pampango built on a base of cut coral stone and lime mortar masonry; it is roofed with nipa; it measures 24 ½ fathoms long, 6 ½ fathoms wide, and 4 fathoms high.-Cemetery: fenced with bamboos, 36 fathoms long and 31 fathoms wide.-Rectory: made of cut coral stone and lime mortar masonry, with galvanized iron sheet roofing, 18 fathoms. It has the barrios of Old Talamban, 1 ½ leagues away; Paril, 3 leagues away, and Taptap 3 leagues away.- It is bounded on the northeast by Mandaue, more than a half league away; on the southwest, Cebu, ½ league away; on the west, Balamban, in the opposite coast ten hours away; and on the east by the island of Mactan, where Opong and Cordoba are located, a one hour crossing.”

The other thirteen parishes which consisted the Vicariate of Southern Cebu were: Opong, Cordoba, San Nicolas (created on May 16, 1584 in the 6th Provincial Chapter of the Augustinian Order under the Patron saint San Nicolas de Tolentino), El Pardo (erected as a parish on March 10, 1865 separating from the town of San Nicolas. It is under the patronage of St. Thomas de Villanueva), Talisay (created on August 16, 1836 under the patronage of St. Therese of Jesus, its mother parish is San Nicolas), Minglanilla (created by Diocesan decree on October 30, 1857 under the patronage of Purest Heart of Mary), Naga (erected as parish by Superior provision on June 12, 1829 under the patronage of San Francisco de Asisi), San Fernando (created on January 19, 1858 under the patronage of San Isidro Labrador), Carcar (created in 1599, venerated here is the patroness, St. Catherine, Virgin and Martyr), Sibonga (created in 1830 under the patronage of Our Lady of Pillar), Argao (created in 1605, although the book said that the parish priest said that it was founded in 1733, under the patronage of St. Michael Archangel), Dalaguete (dates back to 1711 under the patronage of San Guillermo, Duque de Aquitania (St. William of Aquitaine), Bol-joon (created in honor of the Patroncinio de la Santisima Virgen), Nueva Caceres (Oslob), Oslob (erected on January 8, 1848 under the patronage of Immaculate Conception of Our Lady).

[email protected]

vuukle comment



  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with