Tuburan, Cebu

CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal - The Freeman

Tuburan, the town on the road to becoming the top coffee producer in the Visayas inspired by its mayor, Democrito "Aljun" Diamante, became a parish by Diocesan decree on February 13, 1857 through Superior approval on July 26, 1854. It is under the patronage of St. Anthony de Padua.

However, town records say that in 1952 it celebrated the first centennial of its founding, recalling Mariano Montebon as the first capitan of the town. Tuburan used to be the biggest town of Cebu until Tabuelan's separation. It was Governor Sergio "Serging" Chiong Veloso Osmeña Jr. who answered the call of independence of Tabuelan. It was through Executive Order No. 621 signed by then President Elpidio Quirino dated October 23, 1953 that Tabuelan became independent. The visitas (chapel) of Tuburan were: Putat 1, Tabuelan, and Taghaligui.

The municipal hall used to be the residence of Don Fausto Tabotabo, built in 1899. It was on April 14, 1914 that the town acquired it and converted it into the town's hall. It was Doña Florencia Tabotabo who signed the deed of sale by Municipal President Peping Veloso.

Tuburan is the birthplace of the last Cebuano general to surrender to the Americans, Gen. Arcadio Molero Maxilom. He surrendered on October 27, 1901 months after the capture of Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo (who was captured on March 23, 1901 and took his oath of allegiance before the Americans on April 19, 1901). Maxilom was later imprisoned at Fort San Pedro, his properties were stolen by the Americans with the help Tuburan's collaborators. General Maxilom, the first Cebuano Governor of Cebu died on August 10, 1924, with Gen. Aguinaldo in attendance in his burial. Cebu honored him with a camp named after him, the Cebu Provincial Police Office, during the leadership of the then provincial director Senior Superintendent Noel Gillamac. Mango Avenue was also renamed as Gen. Maxilom Avenue. Aside from Maxilom, the other KKK leaders in Tuburan were Bonifacio Aranas (originally from Camiguin) and Ramon Allego.

Jesus Montecillo served as the town mayor (1964-1971), the vice mayors were Regina Y. Edilion and Seferino Esmero. The town councilors decades ago were Nicomedes Gallardo, Arsenio Arendain, Gualberto Gallarde, Antonio Condevillamar, Juan Makig-angay, Balbino Sayson, Felix Nazareno, Eufino Bascar, Antonio Lubanga, and Tolomeo Uy.

[email protected]

vuukle comment


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with