Children that live along the coast of Manila play together on September 14, 2018. Preparations were in high gear in the Philippines with super Typhoon Mangkhut set to make a direct hit in less than 24 hours, packing winds up to 255 kilometres per hour and drenching rains. Thousands fled their homes on the Philippines' northern coastal tip ahead of the early Saturday landfall of what is expected to be the disaster-prone nation's fiercest storm yet this year.
AFP/Noel Celis
Walang Pasok: Class suspensions for September 15
( - September 15, 2018 - 8:03am

MANILA, Philippines (Update 2: September 15, 9:15 a.m.) — Classes remained to be suspended in several areas on Saturday, September 15 as typhoon Ompong (international name Mangkhut) hit the Philippine land. 

Local government units called off classes for Saturday in anticipation of the onslaught of "Ompong" which battered northern Isabela and Cagayan, where it made a landfall early Saturday morning.

Below appears the list of areas with class suspensions:

Metro Manila

  • Caloocan City - all levels (public and private)
  • Las Piñas City - all levels
  • Malabon City - all levels
  • Mandaluyong City - all levels (public and private)
  • Manila City - all levels (public and private)
  • Makati City - all levels (public and private)
  • Marikina City - all levels (public and private)
  • Muntinlupa City - all levels (public and private)
  • Navotas City - all levels
  • Parañaque City - all levels (public and private)
  • Pasay City - all levels (public and private)
  • Pasig City - all levels (public and private)
  • Pateros - all levels
  • Taguig City - all levels (public and private)
  • Quezon City - all levels (public and private)
  • San Juan City - all levels
  • Valenzuela City - all levels (public and private)

Cagayan Valley

  • Cagayan Province - all levels (public and private)


  • Batangas Province - all levels (public and private)
  • Laguna - all levels (public and private)
  • Sariaya, Quezon - all levels (public and private)

Central Luzon

  • Nueva Ecija - all levels (public and private)
  • Pampanga Province - all levels (public and private)

Cordillera Administrative Region

  • Apayao - all levels (public and private)
  • Baguio City - all levels

Ilocos Region

  • La Union Province - all levels (public and private)
  • Pangasinan Province - all levels and work (public and private)


  • Mamburao, Occidental Mindoro 
  • Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro 

This is a running list. Please refresh this post for updates. 

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with