Elaine, who had tried twice before bagging the top plum in the popular singing contest, won P2 million cash tax-free, among other prizes
Elaine Duran is Tawag 3 champ
KAPAMILYA DAY - Kane Errol Choa (The Philippine Star) - October 3, 2019 - 12:00am

Like a blazing fire that refuses to die, Elaine Duran impressed the audiences and the judges with her interpretation of Shanti Dope’s Nadarang and Basil Valdez’s medley to become the grand champion of the third Tawag Ng Tanghalan: Ang Huling Tapatan in It’s Showtime.

Elaine, the first TNT record holder of 10 consecutive daily wins, beat 11 other grand finalists in a week of singing competition, earned a total combined average score of 41.18 percent from the hurados and the viewers’ text votes.

“Nadarang is about apoy. I have gone through a lot of challenges since the first season. Season one, season two, season three but I did not stop dreaming kasi may apoy na nagbibigay ng rason para magpatuloy sa pangarap ko,” she explained about her unconventional song choice in the first round of the grand finals held at the Caloocan Sports Complex.

Elaine added that she wanted to do something new for the audience and thought of doing a rap. She said, “I was one of those who arranged the song Nadarang. Naisip kong gawing ethnic para may bagong twist.”

Her plan paid off as hurado Mitoy was all praises when he was asked to comment about Elaine’s performance, “Hindi ka tao, alien ka. Kahit ilang beses kitang napanood, you do not fail to surprise us every time. Nag-rap ka sa grand finals. Who will do that on grand finals? Napaka-risky pero ang tapang mo.”

His fellow hurado, Jolina Magdangal, shared the same sentiment and praised Elaine for her musicality, “Every time you perform, pinapakita mo sa amin na parang ikaw ang may-ari ng kanta. Nababago mo ang kanta at dinadala mo kami sa ibang mundo pag kumakanta ka.”

Elaine with fellow Tawag ng Tanghalan 3’s Top 6 grand finalists (from left) John Michael dela Cerna, Kim Nemenzo, Jonas Oñate, Shaina Mae Allaga and John Mark Saga

Elaine, who had tried twice before bagging the top plum in the popular singing contest, won a tax-free cash prize of P2 million from Nescafé Creamy White, a brand-new house and lot from Camella, a management contract with ABS-CBN, a recording contract with TNT Records, a business franchise from Potato Great, custom in-ear monitors, a vacation package and a TNT trophy designed by renowned visual artist Toym Imao.

According to Elaine, she will share her winnings with her family who supported her journey. She has been praying to God to know her purpose in life, as she had been unlucky in her job applications since finishing her studies last year.

“Duty ng ate to help our parents and send my siblings to school,” she said. I am so happy knowing that makakasama ko sa isang bahay ang aking mga kapatid who are studying here in Metro Manila.”

Elaine beat two JMs in the final round — second placer John Mark Saga and third placer John Michael dela Cerna.

John Mark, who earned a total combined average score of 33.59 percent for singing a medley of December Avenue’s songs, said he had doubts about himself before performing at the grand finals.

“I felt that even my song choice at yung susuotin ko, baka hindi nila magustuhan. But the audience’s positive feedback, parang it’s warming my heart so much. Binigay nila sa akin ang kalayaan ko. I am really happy. This is the greatest prize that I can give to myself — yung freedom sa sarili ko,” he told the audience.

On the other hand, John Michael, whose performance earned a total combined average score of 25.23 percent, chose to perform Bon Jovi’s songs in the final round.

The other three grand finalists who competed in the first round of the grand finals were Shaina Mae Allaga (14.71 percent), Kim Nemenzo (10.41 percent) and Jonas Oñate (8.4 percent).

Prior to Saturday’s grand finals, the other grand finalists who competed were Ranillo Enriquez, Charizze Arnigo, Violeta Bayawa, Julius Cawaling, Rafaello Cañedo and Jermaine Apil.

There were supposed to be 13 grand finalists, but Mariko Ledesma backed out from the race.

The hurados in last Saturday’s grand finals were K Brosas, Zsa Zsa Padilla, Mitoy, Jolina, Randy Santiago, Karylle, Jed Madela, Karla Estrada, Kyla, Erik Santos, Billy Crawford, Jaya, Ogie Alcasid, Gary Valenciano and Rey Valera.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with