The 16th Stars Awards for TV: Look ma, no protests!
() - October 15, 2002 - 12:00am
No one raised a howl when the curtains fell on the 16th Star Awards for Television last Saturday at the jampacked UP Theater. GMA 7 dominated the race by winning 27 trophies, including the top award for Best Station. ABS-CBN 2, on the other hand, clinched 20 wins. These included the tie between Mel Tiangco of GMA 7’s Frontpage and Korina Sanchez of ABS-CBN’s TV Patrol for Best Female Newscaster and that of Ogie Alcasid and Michael V as Best Comedy Actor for Bubble Gang (GMA-7).

Save for the snubbing incident between Mel and Korina, the awards rites was unmarred by protest or controversy. ‘Twas indeed, a night of popular choices.
The Honor Roll
Best TV Station – GMA-7

Best Children’s Show Five and Up (GMA)

Best Children’s Show Host Five and Up Kids (GMA)

Best Educational ProgramKnowledge Power (ABS-CBN)

Best Educational Program Host – Ernie Baron, Knowledge Power (ABS-CBN)

Best Lifestyle Show F (ABS-CBN)

Best Lifestyle Show Host – Angel Aquino, Cher Calvin and Daphne Oseña of F (ABS-CBN)

Best News Program Frontpage Ulat ni Mel Tiangco (GMA)

Best Female Newscaster – Korina Sanchez, TV Patrol (ABS-CBN) and Mel Tiangco, Frontpage (GMA)

Best Male Newscaster – Henry Omaga-Diaz, TV Patrol (ABS-CBN)

Best Travel Show – Che Che Lazaro, Che Che Lazaro Presents (GMA)

Best Magazine Show Jessica Soho Reports (GMA)

Best Magazine Show Host – Jessica Soho, Jessica Soho Reports (GMA)

Best Morning Show – Unang Hirit (GMA)

Best Morning Show Host – Arnold Clavio, Lyn Ching, Rhea Santos and company, Unang Hirit (GMA)

Best Public Service Program Mission X (ABS-CBN)

Best Public Service Program Host – Erwin Tulfo, Mission X (ABS-CBN)

Best Public Affairs Program Debate with Mare at Pare (GMA)

Best Public Affairs Program Host – Winnie Monsod and Oscar Orbos, Debate (GMA)

Best Celebrity Talk Show Private Conversations with Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)

Best Celebrity Talk show Host – Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)

Best Showbiz-Oriented ShowStartalk (GMA)

Best Female Showbiz-Oriented Show Host – Kris Aquino, The Buzz (ABS-CBN)

Best Male Showbiz-Oriented Show Host – Boy Abunda, The Buzz (ABS-CBN)

Best Youth-Oriented ShowClick (GMA)

Best Game ShowGame KNB (ABS-CBN)

Best Game Show Host – Kris Aquino, Game KNB (ABS-CBN)

Best New Female TV Personality – Nancy Castileogne, Sana Ay Ikaw Na Nga (GMA)

Best New Male TV Personality – Paolo Ballesteros Eat Bulaga (GMA)

Best Gag Show Bubble Gang (GMA)

Best Comedy Show Kool Ka Lang (GMA)

Best Comedy Actress – Ai Ai delas Alas, Whattamen (ABS-CBN)

Best Comedy Actor – Ogie Alcasid and Michael V, Bubble Gang (GMA)

Best Horror/Fantasy Show Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN)

Best Drama SeriesKung Mawawala Ka (GMA)

Best Drama Mini-Series Pira-Pirasong Pangarap (GMA)

Best Drama Actress – Jean Garcia, Pangako Sa ’Yo (ABS-CBN)

Best Drama Actor – Eddie Garcia, Kung Mawawala Ka (GMA)

Best Variety Show Eat Bulaga (GMA)

Best Musical Variety Show SOP (GMA)

Best Female TV Show Host – Pops Fernandez, ASAP (ABS-CBN)

Best Male TV Show Host – Vic Sotto, Eat Bulaga (GMA)

Best Single Performance by an Actress – Regine Velasquez, Maalaala Mo Kaya, "Lobo" (ABS-CBN)

Best Single Performance by an Actor – Paolo Contis, Maalaala Mo Kaya, "Chicken Feet" (ABS-CBN)
Special Awards
Long-Running TV Shows: Ating Alamin; Batibot; Beauty School Plus; Chikiting Patrol; Damayan; Eat Bulaga; Home Along Da Riles; Kapwa Ko; Mahal Ko; Maalaala Mo Kaya?; Magandang Gabi Bayan; Mel and Jay; Newswatch; The Big News; The Probe Team; Travel Time and TV Patrol.

Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award – Inday Badiday

Male Star of the Night – Piolo Pascual

Female Star of the Night – Gretchen Barretto

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with