Fixed term for PNP officials sought

Emmanuel Tupas - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippine National Police remains hopeful that the incoming 19th Congress will pass a law prescribing a fixed three-year term for the PNP chief and other senior police officials.

Col. Jean Fajardo, spokesperson for the PNP, said there is a pending bill in Congress, which seeks a fixed term for the PNP chief.

“We are still waiting kung mare-refile ito sa incoming Congress,” Fajardo told reporters yesterday.

President Duterte has signed a law prescribing a fixed three-year term for the Armed Forces of the Philippines chief and other senior military officials.

According to Fajardo, a fixed term for PNP officials would help the organization in terms of continuity of programs.

“It will somehow create stability within the police force,” she said.

There were seven national police chiefs under the Duterte administration. The last, former PNP chief Dionardo Carlos, served for only six months.

Lt. Gen. Vicente Danao Jr. is serving as officer-in-charge of the PNP.


Meanwhile, several senior police officials got new posts in the latest round of reshuffle in the PNP.

Brig. Gen. Lawrence Coop, who was previously assigned with the PNP Directorate for Personnel and Records Management (DPRM), was designated as director of the Supervisory Office on Security and Investigation Agencies.

Brig. Gen. Constancio Chinayog Jr. replaced Coop as deputy director of the DPRM.

Brig. Gen. Sidney Villaflor was appointed as deputy director of the Logistics Support Service, replacing Brig. Gen. Jonnel Estomo who will be the next acting deputy commander of the Area Police Command in Southern Luzon.

Also getting a new post is Brig. Gen. Emmanuel Peralta, who was named acting head of the Directorate for Information and Communications
Technology (DICTM).

Brig. Gen. Jonn Arnaldo, formerly assigned at the DICTM, was designated as director of the National Police Training Institute.

The Anti-Cybercrime Group got a new director in the person of Brig. Gen. Bowenn Joey Masauding. Former ACG chief Brig. Gen. Robert Rodriguez was designated as acting director of the DPRM.



  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with