Duterte's Cabinet takes oath, holds first meeting

Patricia Lourdes Viray - Philstar.com

MANILA, Philippines — The new members of President Rodrigo Duterte's Cabinet took their oath of office on Thursday following the inauguration of country's 16th president.

Duterte administered the oath-taking of his Cabinet members following his own inaugural ceremony at Malacanang's Rizal Hall.

The country's new president took his oath of office at exactly 12 p.m. as mandated by the 1987 Constitution.

Rodrigo Duterte, the new Philippine president, conducts the mass oath-taking of his Cabinet officials following his oath of office at Malacañan Palace on Thursday, June 30, 2016. RTVM screencap

Duterte had met with his Cabinet before but this is their first meeting as sworn officials at the Palace.

The president recently completed the lineup of his Cabinet:

  • Cabinet Secretary - Leoncio "Jun" Evasco
  • Executive Secretary - Salvador Medialdea
  • Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary - Martin Andanar
  • Presidential Spokesperson - Ernesto Abella
  • National Security Adviser - Hermogenes Esperon Jr.
  • Secretary of Agrarian Reform - Rafael V. Mariano
  • Secretary of Agriculture - Emmanuel "Manny" Piñol
  • Secretary of Budget and Management - Benjamin Diokno
  • Secretary of Education - Leonor Briones
  • Secretary of Energy - Alfonso Cusi
  • Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources - Regina "Gina" Lopez
  • Secretary of Finance - Carlos "Sonny" Dominguez III
  • Secretary of Foreign Affairs - Perfecto R. Yasay, Jr.
  • Secretary of Health - Paulyn Jean Rosell Ubial
  • Secretary of Information and Communications Technology - Rodolfo Salalima
  • Secretary of the Interior and Local Government - Ismael Sueño
  • Secretary of Justice - Vitaliano Aguirre II
  • Secretary of Labor and Employment - Silvestre "Bebot" Bello III
  • Secretary of National Defense - Delfin Lorenzana
  • Secretary of Public Works and Highways - Mark Villar
  • Secretary of Science and Technology - Fortunato de la Peña
  • Secretary of Social Welfare and Development - Judy Taguiwalo
  • Secretary of Tourism - Wanda Corazon Teo
  • Secretary of Trade and Industry - Ramon Lopez
  • Secretary of Transportation and Communications - Arthur Tugade
  • Presidential Assistant for the Visayas - Michael Diño
  • Special Assistant to the President/Presidential Management Staff chief - Christopher "Bong" Go

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with