STAR gets nominated for Top Media Publisher in TikTok Awards 2022

Lyka Nicart - The Philippine Star
STAR gets nominated for Top Media Publisher in TikTok Awards 2022

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippine STAR has been nominated at this year’s TikTok Awards Philippines.

The TikTok Awards is set to recognize creators, public figures and media publishers who have produced entertainment and impactful TikTok content the past year at an awards ceremony happening at the New Frontier Theatre, Aug. 13.

Now on its second year, the TikTok Awards introduced the special award “Top Media Publisher Award” to honor the media publisher “that has achieved the most views, engagements, and additional followers for the time period.”

Launched in November 2021, STAR’s official TikTok account now has over 534,000 likes and 10.5 million views on the platform, with content ranging from news, exclusives, to entertainment, among others.

STAR, the sole print media publisher to get a nod for the category, is nominated alongside the likes of 24 Oras, Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho, One PH, When In Manila, News5 and DZRH News.

TikTok Philippines also revealed its nominees for fan-voted categories, namely, Popular Creator of the Year, Celebrity Of The Year, PPOP Group Of The Year, Livestreamer Of The Year, Livestreamer Of The Year and Rising Live Star Of The Year.

Fans have a chance to still vote for their favorites six times a day until tomorrow, Aug. 12, via TikTok’s in-app Lyka Nicart site.

Meanwhile, winners will be officially announced on Aug. 20 with the TikTok Awards Philippines streaming at 7 p.m. on TikTok Philippines’ Official TikTok, YouTube and Facebook accounts. The online event, titled Panalo Ka Dito, Tara Na!, showcases entertaining and different content that loyal TikTok users and non-users can create and experience with the app. The awards show will also feature world-class performances from trending local celebrities and the biggest TikTok stars from the Philippines.

Among the fan-favorite musical acts are Darren Espanto, Zephanie, Ken San Jose, Awra Briguela, Adie, Jed Madela, Mavy Legaspi and Kyline Alcantara, along with Pinoy pop boy and girl groups BGYO, BINI and MNL48. Brothers Rayver and Rodjun Cruz and sibling dance duo Niana and Natalia Guerrero will also give special performances during the event.



  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with