The Old Congressional Districts of Leyte (Part 3)
CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal (The Freeman) - May 24, 2019 - 12:00am

In the 1700s Leyte and Samar were part of the Diocese of Cebu. The proximity of the island of Cebu to Leyte resulted in migration and inter-marriages between the two places. Majority of Cebuanos and Leyteños are interrelated by affinity or blood, the result of this is that their politics and religious practices share common roots.

Old 1st District of Leyte

Representative Carlos Tan who was representative of the district from 1931 to 1934, 1938 to 1941, and 1946 to 1949 became a Senator. At this time our senators starting in 1941 were elected at large. He assumed the Senate position by virtue of the decision of the Senate Electoral Tribunal on December 16, 1949. Carlos Tan was born in Ormoc, Leyte, on November 4, 1893 to the couple Pablo Tan and Rosalia Salvatierra de Fan. He became a lawyer and after serving the Senate he came to the House of Representatives to be part of the 3rd Congress in 1953 to 1957.

Representative Marcelino Rono Veloso more known as Lining Veloso was born on June 2, 1919 and died on May 11, 1986. In his honor the circumferential road connecting San Isidro, Calubian, and Leyte, Leyte was named after him by virtue of Republic Act 9461 enacted on May 15, 2007.

The old First District was again re-districted in 1961 this time, the composition was Abuyog, Babatngon, Dulag, Javier (Bugho), MacArthur, Mahaplag, Mayorga, Palo, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Tacloban City, Tanauan, and Tolosa.

The Municipality of Bugho used to be a barrio of Abuyog, Leyte, it was converted into a municipality on June 1961 by virtue of Republic Act 3422. It was renamed as Javier by virtue of Republic Act 4365 enacted on June 19, 1965. The name Javier comes from the name of a resident of Sogod, Southern Leyte, with the complete name of Daniel Falcon Javier who was a principal of the Cebu Normal School, renamed later as the Cebu Normal College and presently called the Cebu Normal University.

The old First District of Leyte existed from 1907 up to 1972, when President Marcos by virtue of Proclamation No. 1081 on September 21, 1972 abolished Congress and the Senate. From 1961 to 1965, Daniel Z. Romualdez was its representative, he was succeeded by Artemio E. Mate who was representative from 1965 to 1972. Mate was the mayor of Tacloban City, Leyte. (To be continued)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with