Oslob, Cebu

CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal - The Freeman

Oslob's center of government used to be a place now called Daan Lungsod. It was then called as Bolocboloc because of the abundance of springs on the seashore which was the source of freshwater then.

It was in 1879 when the government site was transferred to its present location upon orders of the Rev. Father Juan J. Aragoneo, its first parish priest. According to the book "Cebu: History of Four Cities & Forty Nine Municipalities" by Gervasio L. Lavilles, the brains of the Cebu City Charter, legend says that origin of the name of the town came from the word "toslob" when the first set of Spaniards came to the place and asked its name. The locals thought that the Spaniards were asking what they were doing, they answered "toslob" as they were dipping bananas into a bowl of salt. The letter L was later dropped for simplicity in spelling and pronunciation.

The Church was erected under the patronage of the Our Lady of Immaculate Concepcion, by Diocesan decree on January 8, 1848 through Superior Approval on September 18, 1847. Oslob used to be a visita (chapel) of Boljoon. The town of Santander used to be an annex, the said church is under the patronage of San Gabriel Archangel.

Oslob's chief executive (called first as municipal presidents, then later as municipal mayors) were Meliton Rendon, Juan Luna (he was also appointed as Vice Mayor on January 4, 1946 by President Sergio Osmeña Sr.) Ireneo Rendon, Macario Culanag, Tamon Rendon, Policarpio Ondiano, Esteban Cerna, Patricio Mision, Mariano Rendon, and Mamerto Mision.

In 1964 a year before the 4th Centennial Celebration of the Christianization of the Philippines, the following were its officials: Mayor Jose D. Tumulak, Vice Mayor Ireneo T. Luna, Municipal Secretary Melchor Cuerpo, Judge Fermin Laborte (he became a lawyer on February 23, 1937), Treasurer Pedro S. Villarin, Chief of Police Narciso Olis, and Health Officer Dra. Maria Pasiliao.

Its councilors at that time were Apolonio Abines (decades later elected as Vice Governor of Cebu), Ireneo Rendon, Silvino Figues, Raymundo Erauda, Esteban Laurente, Bibiano Lunor, Antonio Luna, and Ildefonso Rizon.

[email protected]

vuukle comment


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with