Almendras elected MAP president

Catherine Talavera - The Philippine Star
Almendras elected MAP president
Jose Rene Almendras
STAR / File

MANILA, Philippines — AC Logistics Holding Corp. CEO Rene Almendras has been elected as the next president of the Management Association of the Philippines (MAP).

In a statement yesterday, the MAP said Almendras would lead the group in 2024 as he was elected as the MAP’s 76th president.

According to the MAP, Almendras, who also serves as senior managing director of Ayala Corp., has vast experience in the private and the public sectors.

Apart from his role as president and CEO of AC Logistics, Almendras also serves as the Public Affairs Group Head of Ayala Corp.

He is also a director of the following companies within the Ayala Group: AC Energy and Infrastructure, Light Rail Manila Holdings, Entrego, Air 21 Holdings, and its subsidiaries.

Almendras spent 13 years with the Citibank group where he started as a management trainee and landed his first CEO position as president of City Savings Bank of the Aboitiz Group at the age of 37.

In 2011, he was recognized by the World Economic Forum (WEF) as a Sustainability Champion for his efforts as president of MWCI.

During his stint as president and COO, MWCI received multiple awards and was recognized as one of the Best Managed Companies in Asia, Best in Corporate Governance, one of the Greenest Companies in the Philippines, and hailed as the world’s Most Efficient Water Company.

As a public servant, he served in various high-level positions such as Cabinet Secretary, and Secretary of the departments of Foreign Affairs and Energy.

In June 2016, he was awarded the Order of Lakandula, Rank of Gold Cross Bayani, a presidential award and the highest honor given to a civilian by the Republic of the Philippines.

Joining Sec. Almendras on the MAP 2024 board of governors are KPMG R.G. Manabat & Co. vice chair and COO Emmanuel Bonoan as VP; HSBC Philippines treasurer and head of Markets and Securities Services Maria Corazon Purisima as treasurer; GCash/Mynt president and CEO Martha Sazon as assistant treasurer; and CEO Advisers and Partner Karen Batungbacal as secretary.

The other MAP governors are Du-Baladad and Associates (BDB Law) founding partner and CEO and MAP immediate past president Benedicta Du-Baladad, Center for Excellence in Governance vice chair Rex Drilon II, PLDT and SMART president and CEO Alfredo Panlilio and P&A Grant Thornton founder Benjamin Punongbayan.

vuukle comment


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with