Headlines Skinning Left, pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
Headlines ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

Duterte, Robredo win in final, official tally

Incoming president Rodrigo Duterte and vice president Leni Robredo.  

MANILA, Philippines - Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte and Camarines Sur Rep. Leni Robredo have emerged as winners of the May 9 national elections after the National Board of Canvassers finished counting certificates of canvass on Friday.

Based on the final official tally, Duterte won the presidential race with 16,601,997 votes while Robredo led the vice presidential race with 14,418,817 votes.

The canvassing of the votes took three days to finish, amid complaints by the camp of Sen. Ferdinand Marcos Jr. who came in at close second behind Robredo. For the presidential race, all other candidates have conceded to Duterte except Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago.

Sen. Koko Pimentel, sitting as the co-chair of the canvassing board, said the House of Representatives and the Senate will resume their joint session at 2 p.m. on Monday, where Duterte and Robredo will be proclaimed as the president- and vice president-elect, respectively.

Headlines ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
  • Follow Us:
Healines Skinning Right, pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1