Freeman Cebu Sports

Sad day for phl boxing

SPORTS EYE - Raffy T. Uytiepo - The Freeman

It was a sad week for the Philippines as two of our boxers failed in their bids to bring glory to the country. Former world titlist Jonas “Zorro” Sultan was knocked out in the first round by Japanese Riku Masuda in the undercard of the Jerwin Ancajas-Takuma Inoue world title bout in Tokyo, Japan last February 24. Sultan who is known as a ring toughie, received a stinging left straight to the body and falling to the canvas in great pain. The 26-year-old Japanese needed only 21 seconds to secure the victory over the favored and more experienced Sultan. In the main event, Jerwin Ancajas, who was hoping to claim another world crown, suffered a ninth round knockout loss after Takuma Inoue dopped him with a perfect body shot with a minute left in the round. The loss was the third for Ancajas after giving up the International Boxing Federation (IBF) Super Flyweight belt which he owned for six years. Inoue’s record is now 19-1 with 5KOs. Inoue now looks at the WBC bantamweight title after fellow Japanese Junto Nakatani snatched the belt from  Alexander Santiago who in 2018 drew with Ancajas.

Manila marathon is back

After a long hiatus, the Manila International Marathon is back. Although the field is not as strong when our Nike Team dominated the marathon winning 12 titles in a row, it’s a good start. Richard Salario of the Philippine Army repulsed the challenge of Allali Nasser of France when he won in 2:24:24. Salario, who hails from Marilao, Bulacan, exchanged lead with the Frenchman until he broke away with a few kilometers to go. In the distaff side, Maricar Camacho of Cavite overtook Kenyan Lilian Jepkosgei Kipror in the last four kilometers to win the race in 3:16:32. Salario and Camacho went home richer by P50,000 each and the honor to represent the country in the Taiwan International Marathon.

NOTES: Speaking of the Manila International Marathon, did you know that Cebuanos dominated the top 22 places of the 2nd PAL Manila International Marathon in 1983. 4th  Eriberto Banzon 2:33:03, 7th Cristituto Canete 2:36:38, 13th Irene Illut 2:42:48, 17th   Exequiel Baisac 2:44:04, 20th Joveniano Libato 2:46:41, 21th Guillermo Pelare 2:46:48, and 22nd Marcos Pelare 2:49:49

vuukle comment


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with