Ericka Lim, Andrew Ahn top Shepherd’s Cup golf
(The Freeman) - March 29, 2015 - 10:00am

CEBU, Philippines- Junior golf standout Ericka Lim and Korean Andrew Ahn lead the winners of the 1st Shepherd’s Cup Golf Tournament played at the par-72 Alta Vista Golf and Country Club last Friday.

The event, which was a project of Word Broadcasting Corp. and the Archdiocese of Cebu, was held to raise funds for the various radio programs of the diocese.

Lim took home the lowest gross honors firing two-under-par 70 strokes on nines of 35 and 35.  She went on-under after a birdie on the par-4 4th, but a bogey on the 5th hole put her back at even par.

Lim, an incoming sophomore college student, bogeyed the tough hole No. 10 before firing a string of birdies on the 12th, 14th, and 18th to finish at two-under-par.

Ahn fired nines of 34 and 37 for a gross one-under-par 71 and established a System-36 handicap of 2 to finish with a net score of 69 for the lowest net honors after beating Jose ‘Boy’ Cunanan in the countback by virtue of a lower established handicap.

No less than Cebu Archbishop Jose Palma handed the awards to the winners.  He also led the hitting of ceremonial drives in the morning.

Others, who hit ceremonial balls were Alta Vista Director Vicente ‘Inting’ Go and tournament organizer Fr. Bobby Ebisa, SVD.

Cunanan ruled class A with a net score of 69 strokes off a gross score of 75 strokes.  First runner-up was Wendell Yap, who also had a net score of 69, but had a higher established handicap of 11 against the 6 of Cunanan.  Second runner-up was Peter Rennie with a net score of 70 off a gross three-over-par 73 strokes.

Retired Major General Romy Gapuz ruled class B with a net score of 71 off a gross score of 88.  He won the award after edging two others in the countback through a lower established handicap.  First runner-up was Carlo Magno with a net 71 off a gross 89 while Benjie Hortelano was second runner-up also with a net score of 69.  Magno won the higher award by scoring more pars compared to Hortelano.

Kenneth Tan of hole-in-one sponsor Hyundai Cebu bagged the class C diadem with a net score of 74 strokes off a gross score of 100.  First runner-up was Joseph Macasusi with a net score of 75 while second runner-up was Larry Benito with a net score of78 edging Mel Alejandro in the countback.

The title of the seniors’ (55 to 69 years old) division went to Antonio ‘Loloy’ Sabuga with a net score of 69 beating Rolando Alberto in the countback via a lower established handicap.

The super seniors (70 years old and above) title went to Jack Lee with a net score of 71 edging David Villono in the countback.

Crestina Sumalinog ruled the ladies division with a net score of 73 strokes off a gross score of 95.  First runner-up was lawyer Dalisay Chavez-Ohdate with a net score of 74 strokes followed by Renafe Arnado as second runner-up with a net score of 77 strokes.

Lor Alburo took home the special award for nearest to the pin on hole No. 6 where his tee shot landed six feet and two inches from the hole.  The most accurate drive on the 11th was made by Richard Lim with his tee shot coming to rest six inches from the center line.

Close to a hundred players took part in the 18-hole event. (PR from (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with