Dominant Team Manila sweeps Pony International Softball World Series

John Bryan Ulanday - Philstar.com
Dominant Team Manila sweeps Pony International Softball World Series
Under coach Sheirylou Valenzuela, Team Manila has scored six straight blowout wins in its return to the prestigious softball tourney at the McAllen Softball Complex.
STAR / File

MANILA, Philippines – Team Manila trounced home bet Glory Adkins Bejar, 6-0, to reign supreme in the 2023 Pony International Softball World Series with a sweep Monday at the McAllen Softball Complex in Texas.

It’s a remarkable domination for the unbeaten Philippine representative, allowing only a single run across eight matches to bring back home the international youth crown after five years.

The wards of coach Sheirylou Valenzuela previously ruled the 2017 and 2018 editions of the world joust before skipping the 2019 edition due to the country’s hosting of the 30th Southeast Asian Games.

In the tournament’s return from a three-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Philippines was the same lethal batter as before.

Rheamay Salazar Quilongquilong and Maryjoy Lumugdang Alpitche took turns in anchoring the Filipinos’ onslaught with the former leading a 4-0 shutout of Glory Adkins to top the elims and notch a finale ticket.

As Glory Adkins earned a rematch with the Philippines after a 3-1 win over California’s Premier Fastpitch, it was Alpitche who rose to the occasion.

“Despite all the difficulties, hardships and constraints in support that we encountered, Team Manila-Philippines remained focused and steadfast in recapturing and taking home the crown in the PONY International World Series,” said president Rafael “Che” Borromeo, who was accompanied by Rolando Evangelista and Neil King in leading the Philippine delegation.

The mighty Filipinos scored seven shutouts in eight matches, with Houston’s American Thunder Gulf Coast becoming the only squad to hit a run against them.

Team Manila made short work of its other opponents in Nitro (Mexico), 4-0, Mustang SC (San Antonio, Texas), 7-0, STX Gladiatrix (Texas), 11-0, Texas Glory Adkins LT Wood (San Antonio), 11-0, and Premier Fastpitch, 3-0.

Helping Team Manila achieve the perfect feat were Kenchie Gamboa Tan, Jhaycel Banac Rolda, Anne Frensbelle Casaysay Patricio, Kylemarie Baneco Matarong, Annerose Malutao Macatbag, Angelica Magbanua Cordero, Katherine Aguilar Ditchon, Maryjane Ragas Libaton, Sathia Nicole Romero-Salas and Mary Jane Ruiz Beronilla.

vuukle comment


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with