Cayetano back as Taguig chief exec

Neil Jayson Servallos - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — Taguig City District 1 Rep. Lani Cayetano has made a successful return as mayor after representing the city in the House of Representatives for only one term, beating her rival backed by presidential candidate Ferdinand Marcos Jr.

Cayetano was proclaimed mayor at past 3 p.m. yesterday.

As of 5 p.m., Cayetano won the race with 272,433, beating rival Arnel Cerafica – whose local political coalition is allied with Marcos Jr.’s UniTeam – who got 87,164 votes.

Cayetano’s running mate, Alvin Alit, also won with a commanding lead with 231,646 votes against Janelle Cerafica, who got 105,040 votes.

Meanwhile, the District 1 congressional seat that Cayetano will vacate will be occupied by outgoing Vice Mayor Ricardo Cruz, who had been Cayetano’s vice mayor from 2013 to 2019. He received 99,059 votes against Allan Cerafica’s 82,673 votes.

Outgoing Taguig councilwoman Pammy Zamora – sister of San Juan Mayor Francis Zamora – will occupy the District 2 congressional seat after getting 120,833 votes against Che Che Gonzales, who got 54,959 votes.

Meanwhile, Cayetano’s slate of city council candidates swept the elections, with all Nacionalista Party bets securing all 16 city council seats.


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with