LIST: Members of PNP board of inquiry on Mamasapano clash

Camille Diola - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippine National Police's Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG) on Friday revealed the names of members of the board of inquiry tasked to conduct a thorough investigation on the January 25 clash between police commandos and Moro rebels.

"In the interest of transparency as [PNP officer-in-change Deputy Director General] Leonardo Espina has always espoused, we are giving the public the names of the PNP officers who will compose the Board of Inquiry that will conduct an objective, impartial and thorough investigation into the Mamasapano incident," CIDG Director Chief Superintendent Benjamin Magalong said.

Four days after the board of inquiry was activated, it has collected 300 signed affidavits of Armed Forces officials, civilians, witnesses and members of the Special Action Force, whose colleagues died in a counter-terrorism operation in Mamasapano town in Maguindanao.

The members are:

Director Catalino Rodriguez

PMA class 81; currently the Director of the Directorate for Reseach and Development (DRD); was former Regional Director of PRO 10 in Northern Mindanao; former Director, DIPO-Visayas in 2013-2014 and was Provincial Director of Misamis Oriental in 2008. Finished graduate studies with a Degree of Master in Criminal Justice and Police Management at the University of Lei Ces Per in U.K. with Civil Service Executive Examination(CSEE) eligibility.

Chief Superintendent John Sosito

PNPA class ’84, current Executive Officer of DIPO-Eastern Mindanao, member of Philippine Bar; Provincial Director of one of the Provinces in PRO8,NCRPO in 2006 and Training Service with Police Executive Senior Eligibility (PESE) of NAPOLCOM.

Senior Superintendent Roberto Po

PNPA class 85, formerly assigned at the Directorate for Investigation and Detective Management (DIDM), NCRPO Manila Police District as Chief Directorial Staff, in General Santos as City Director in 2008 and in CIDG as Regional Chief of NCRCIDG, he is the current Deputy PIO, PNP.

Senior Superintendent Ronald dela Rosa

PMA class ’86, former City Director of Davao City, assigned also in Camp Crame at the DHRDD in 2003, and former CIDG investigator.

Senior Superintendent Cesar Hawthorne Binag

PMA class ’87 who was formerly assigned with NCRPO as Station Commander of PS 10 in 2003, HPG in 2004 and served a tour of duty with the UN Mission in Liberia in 2013-2014.

Senior Superintendent Benigno Durana Jr.

PMA class ’88, who was formerly Provincial Director of Aklan PPO, had a brief assignment with SAF in 1990-1992 as Operation Officer, with DCA, PAOCC and saw action in the PNP-UN mission last 2002; and lastly,

Chief Inspector David Joy Duarte

PNPA class 2005, the topnotcher of his class and a graduate of the Asia Institute of Management (AIM). He served the SAF in 2005-2011 as Intelligence Officer and Logictics Officer, and presently assigned at the Center for Police Strategic Management.

Director Benjamin Magalong, board of inquiry chief

A former SAF Battalion Commander, Chief Directorial Staff (CDS) and saw action during the siege at Camp Bagong Diwa in Bicutan, Taguig City in March 20015 during the term of then CPNP PDG Arturo Lomibao, where ASG members staged a stand-off but were ultimately neutralized by Magalong and his team.

RELATED: DOJ picks 5 lawyers to build case on Mamasapano clash

vuukle comment









  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with