Star-studded Eddys Awards set

(The Philippine Star) - July 7, 2017 - 4:00pm

MANILA, Philippines - A star-studded program is ready to go on stage at the Kia Theater for the first-ever Entertainment Editors’ Awards for Movies, dubbed The Eddys, on July 9. It is hosted by father and son Edu and Luis Manzano.

A roster of artists will provide the production numbers throughout the evening dedicated to honoring the best creative minds and talents in the movie industry.

James Reid and Nadine Lustre will open the show, with Ella Cruz and Julian Trono, and Yassi Pressman and Arjo Atayde in their respective musical numbers.

A must-see production number is headed by Ogie Alcasid, Martin Nievera and Morissette Amon and Klarisse in a tribute to the late OPM legend Willy Cruz.

The celebrities who will present the various awards include Christopher de Leon; Lorna Tolentino; AJ Muhlach, Phoebe Walker; Empoy Marquez and Alessandra de Rossi of Kita Kita; Sarah Lahbati and Richard Gutierrez, who stars in La Luna Sangre; Edward Barber and Maymay Entrata; JC Santos and Bela Padilla; Elmo Magalona and Janella Salvador of Star Cinema’s Bloody Crayons; Cristine Reyes; and Jodi Sta. Maria.

Special awards will be handed out to director Lav Diaz (Manny Pichel Award), TV host/columnist Boy Abunda (Joe Quirino Award) and Regal Films matriarch Lily Monteverde (Producer of the Year).

Written by Nash Torres and directed by Arnel Natividad, the Eddys is a joint production of Viva Live and ABS-CBN.

The Eddys is mounted by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd), a non-stock, non-profit organization of entertainment editors from the country’s top broadsheets and tabloids. 

The awards is the group’s way of encouraging Filipino filmmakers, producers, writers, actors and other allied artists in the Philippine movie industry to continue pursuing their passion of creating films that mirror the realities of our society. 

SPEEd is headed by Isah V. Red of The Manila Standard.


Best Film

Pamilya Ordinaryo

Ang Babaeng Humayo

Everything About Her

Saving Sally

Die Beautiful

Best Director

Jun Robles Lana (Die Beautiful)

Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Avid Liongoren (Saving Sally)

Joyce Bernal (Everything About Her)

Eduardo Roy Jr. (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Maryo J. de los Reyes (The Unmarried Wife)

Best Actress

Hasmine Killip (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Jaclyn Jose (Ma’Rosa)

Vilma Santos (Everything About Her)

Rhian Ramos (Saving Sally)

Charo Santos (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Nora Aunor (Tuos)

Ai-Ai delas Alas (Area)

Best Actor

Daniel Padilla (Barcelona: A Love Untold)

Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful)

Enzo Marcos (Saving Sally)

Dingdong Dantes (The Unmarried Wife)

Ronwaldo Martin (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Best Supporting Actress

Barbie Forteza (Tuos)

Aiko Melendez (Barcelona)

Maria Isabel Lopez (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Angel Locsin (Everything About Her)

Gladys Reyes (Die Beautiful)

Anna Luna (Paglipay)

Best Supporting Actor

Joel Torre (Die Beautiful)

Christian Bables (Die Beautiful)

John Lloyd Cruz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Xian Lim (Everything About Her)

Raymond Lee a.k.a. Moira Lang (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Best Screenplay (original or adapted from another material)

Eduardo W. Roy Jr. (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Irene Villamor and Mia Concio (Everything About Her)

Carlo Ledesma and Charlene Sawit-Esguerra (Saving Sally)

Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Rody Vera (Die Beautiful)

Zig Madamba Dulay (Paglipay)

Best Cinematography

Albert Banzon (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Shayne Sarte (Everything About Her)

Odyssey Flores and Rommel Sales (Saving Sally)

Neil Bion (Seklusyon)

Carlo Mendoza (Die Beautiful)

Albert Banzon (Paglipay)

Best Visual Effects

Garry Angeles (Seklusyon)

Jether Amar, April Fronda, Peter Mutuc, Joshua Panelo, Pablo Pico and Jethro Razo (Saving Sally)

Best Musical Scoring

Richard Gonzales (Die Beautiful)

Emerson Texon (Everything About Her)

Teresa Barrozo (Ma’Rosa)

Jesse Lucas (The Unmarried Wife)

Gian Gianan (Paglipay)

Best Production Design

Harley Alcasid (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Joey Luna (Everything About Her)

Rommel Laquian and Erik Manalo (Saving Sally)

Popo Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Angel Diesta (Die Beautiful)

Aped Santos (Paglipay)

Best Sound Design

Albert Michael Idioma and Immanuel Verona (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Lamberto Casas Jr. and Albert Michael Idioma (Seklusyon)

Joshua Cantillon and Miko Quizon (Saving Sally)

Corinne de San Jose, Mark Locsin and Che Villanueva (Ang Babaeng Humayo)

Lamberto Casas Jr. and Armand de Guzman (Die Beautiful)

Best Editing

Carlo Francisco Manatad (Pamilya Ordinaryo)

Diego Marx Dobles (Ma’Rosa)

Marya Ignacio and Joyce Bernal (Everything About Her)

Jether Amar and Jethro Razo (Saving Sally)

Benjamin Gonzales Tolentino (Die Beautiful)

Zig Madamba Dulay (Paglipay)

Best Documentary

Sunday Beauty Queen (TBA Productions)

People Power Bombshell: The Diary of Vietnam Rose (Liz Alindogan)

Beyond the Block: The Untold Story of Filipino Dance (Ricky Carranza)

Forbidden Memory (Cinema One Originals)

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with