Freeman Cebu Sports

No more #6

NBA BUZZ - Bobby Motus - The Freeman

For the first time in league history, all 30 NBA teams had officially retired the number 6, in reverence to Hall of Famer and NBA great Bill Russell, who died July 31 at the age of 88. 

The league also plans to add Russell commemorative patches on players’ jerseys for the 2022-2023 NBA season which opens in late October.  The sidelines on every court will have a clover-shaped logo with the number 6 inside of it.

But before announcing the league-wide retirement of the number, the Sacramento Kings and the Orlando Magic already retired number 6, in honor of their sixth man – the fans.

Spending the whole of his career with the Boston Celtics, the legendary Russell spent 13 seasons in the league and won 11 NBA championships, two of those titles as a player-coach for the team.   He was the first Black coach in any US professional sport, winning back-to-back titles during his tenure in 1968 and 1969.  A 5-time MVP, Russell was a 12-time All Star and was named to the All-NBA team 11 times.

Aside from Russell, here are the players from every team who had worn the number most recently:

Atlanta Hawks – Lou Williams, 2021-22

Charlotte Hornets – Jalen McDaniels, 2019-present

Chicago Bulls – Alex Caruso, 2021-present

Cleveland Cavaliers – Moses Brown, 2022

Dallas Mavericks – Kristaps Porzingis, 2019-22

Denver Nuggets – DeAndre Jordan, 2022-present

Detroit Pistons – Hamidou Diallo, 2021-present  

Golden State Warriors – Alen Smailagic, 2019-21

Houston Rockets – Kenyon Martin, Jr., 2020-present

Indiana Pacers – Lance Stephenson, 2010-12, 2022

LA Clippers – Moses Brown, 2022-present

LA Lakers – Eddie Jones, 1995-99; Lebron James, 2021-present

Memphis Grizzlies – Kenneth Lofton, Jr., 2022-present

Miami Heat – Eddie Jones, 2000-05, LBJ, 2010-14

Milwaukee Bucks – Luca Vildoza, 2022-present

Minnesota Timberwolves – Jordan McLaughlin, 2019-present

New Orleans Pelicans – Tyrone Wallace, 2022

New York Knicks – Kristaps Porzingis, 2015-19; Quentin Grimes, 2021-present

Oklahoma City Thunder – Jaylin Williams, 2022-present

Orlando Magic – Patrick Ewing, 2001-02

Philadelphia 76ers – Julius Erving, 1976-87

Phoenix Suns – Walter Davis, 1977-88

San Antonio Spurs – Avery Johnson, 1992-93, 1994-2001

Sacramento Kings – Bob Burrow, 1956-57 (the team was still known as the Rochester Royals)

Toronto Raptors – Corey Joseph, 2015-17

Utah Jazz – Nickeil Alexander-Walker, 2022-present

Washington Wizards – Kristaps Porzingis, 2022-present

vuukle comment


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with