Boston Strong

SPORTS EYE - Raffy Uytiepo (The Freeman) - April 20, 2021 - 12:00am

Every second week of April, runners from all over the world troop to Boston for the oldest and most prestigious race. The Boston Marathon was first held in 1897 on a 24.5 mile-course that started in Ashland and finished at Irvington Oval in downtown. There were only 15 starters and the winner was John Mc Dermott of New York City who clocked in 2:55:10 despite running through a funeral procession on Massachusetts Avenue. He walked three times in the last 10 miles but still outran his closest pursuer by more than seven minutes. In 1911, Clarence DeMar, then 20 years old, won the Boston Marathon the first time he entered it with a time of 2:21:39, breaking the course record by almost 3 minutes. Before the race, a doctor warned him that he was flirting with death because of a heart murmur. The next year, DeMar panicked and called it quits when Alberto Lazaro of Portugal collapsed at the Olympic Marathon. DeMar didn’t run for 10 years, but the runner in him prevailed and DeMar came out of retirement and at age 33, won the 1922 Boston race in 2:18:10. He ran 31 more Boston marathons, winning five of the races. He was 41 when he won the 1930 edition, making him the oldest runner ever to win in Boston. He died of intestinal cancer in 1958 at age 70. One unforgettable event was when DeMar punched a spectator who threw water in his legs.  A Harvard graduate, a printer and a teacher, DeMar’s seven victories in Boston will surely remain unbroken.

Boston stronger

In 2013, two bombs exploded near the finish line, killing three spectators and injuring hundreds. It was uncertain if the race could be held the following year, but in an incredible display of human resilience, the Boston Marathon continues the strength of the running community and remembers those most affected by the tragic events, thus the motto, Boston Strong.

COVID stops Boston

The Boston Marathon was only cancelled once.  In 1918, the race was not held because of World War 1.  In 2020, the race was again cancelled because of the coronavirus that wreaked havoc all over the globe. The 125th staging of the race is set on October 11, 2021.

Music lovers club

Cebu’s top singers gathered at Harold’s Hotel the other week to form probably one of the best singing clubs in the country. The formation of the club was initiated by Hildigrace "Ate Ging” Montesclaros, former host of CCTN Channel 47 musical shows “As Time Goes By” and “Till The End Of Time”.  The club members include icons Max Surban and Dulce, singing doctor Warfe Ingracia, Tawag ng Tanghalan semifinalist Girlie Lapinid Laspinas, the the Barbara Streisand of the Visayas, Cebu Pop Music finalist Nanette Dilao, 2018 Cebu Pop Music champion June Villarta, Sinulog Idol grand winner KC Mabano, 1987 Pop Music finalist Roy Caballero, ballader Dante Luzon, Jhun Villhermosa, the Frank Sinatra of Cebu, Edison Monternel, the Tom Jones of Cebu, Tess Raguro, host/pianist Sam Costanilla, Andy Manatad and Raffy Uytiepo, Elvis Presley of the Visayas.  Also supporting the club are TV directors Tess Diez and Debbie Santa Cruz, Perla Valencia and Alain Montesclaros.

Did you know?

MIKE KASSER of New York City ran the 1983 London Marathon in 2 hours 56 minutes and dashed to Heathrow Airport to catch a plane for America to compete in the Boston Marathon the next day, clocking a respectable 3:08

NOTES:Happy Birthday to Ate Ging Montesclaros, the singing executive of Biotroff Herbal capsules and Hildigrace Townhouses.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with