Cebu News

City honors outstanding individuals, institutions

Caecent No-ot Magsumbol - The Freeman

CEBU , Philippines — The city government feted several individuals and institutions during a ceremony held at the Waterfront Hotel last night as part of the celebrations for the 87th Charter Day of Cebu City.

The Freeman Newspaper was among the institutions given a special award awarded by Mayor Michael Rama for its contribution to the city. The special award was received by The Freeman General Manager Melandro Mendoza.

Five Cebuano artists were also named most outstanding individuals. They are Andoni Aboitiz, chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the National Museum of the Philippines; Allen Arvin Tan; Jose Rodrigo Aviles; Msgr. Agustin Ancajas; and Dr. Dennis Montera. A posthumous award was also given to the late Msgr. Carlito Pono.

The city government also conferred the most outstanding institution award to eight different groups and organizations who have contributed to the development of the City of Cebu.

These are the Radio Emergency Assistance Volunteer Organization Cebu Chapter; Cebu City Fire Volunteers Incorporated; Five Loaves and Two Fishes Inc.; Cebu Road Heroes; Happy Garaje Design Studios; Palm Grass Heritage Hotel; Barangay Budlaan s Lupong Tagapamayapa; and Wipro Philippines.

The mayor also handed a special award to Chinese Consul-General Zhang Zhen; France honorary consul Michael L. Lhuillier; Vice Mayor Raymond Garcia; and most of the city councilors.

Meanwhile, the Cebu City Health Department and the City Disaster Risk reduction Management Office were chosen as the most outstanding departments under the big department and small department categories, respectively.

There were also 40 personnel from the different departments who were awarded most outstanding employees. Rama also conferred a Mayor s Special Award to at least 60 private individuals.

A special citation was also given to the Task Force Sayaw Para sa Buhis, a strategic assessment for your assets and worth, and the Prevention, Restoration, Order, Beautification and Enhancement (PROBE) team.

A loyalty award was also given to Liza Belarmino, Atlas Lim, Leonardo Palabrica, Elipido Cortez, Jr., Henry Alcantara, Chona Edpan, Carmelita Verdida, Ester Navaja, Elizabeth Magdadaro, and Susan Mary Hibionada. (CEBU NEWS)

vuukle comment


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with