Cebu News

Salimbangon unopposed in PCL

Gregg M. Rubio - The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines — The group of Tabogon Councilor Francis Edward Salimbangon is uncontested in today’s scheduled election of the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) Cebu Provincial Federation.

As of August 14, the deadline of the filing of the certificates of candidacy, only Salimbangon’s group filed their documents following an agreement of term-sharing with the group of Sibonga Councilor Caroline Bacaltos.

Salimbangon and Bacaltos’ husband, Sibonga Mayor Lionel Bacaltos, both confirmed the term-sharing agreement they reportedly patterned after the speakership at the House of Representatives.

They reportedly arrived at the agreement because they belong to the same alliance.

Salimbangon, the son of former Fourth District Rep. Benhur Salimbangon, belongs to the National Unity Party while Bacaltos belongs to the Nacionalista Party, both allies of Governor Gwendolyn Garcia of Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) and 1Cebu Party.

The opposition camp led by Vice Governor Hilario Davide III did not field any candidate for the PCL positions.

In the absence of any opposition, the PCL election committee will reportedly proclaim the new set of officers today at the Capitol Social Hall.

Salimbangon will sit as ex-officio member in the Provincial Board replacing now Catmon Vice Mayor Earl Tidy Oyas.

As vice president of PCL Cebu Chapter, Samboan Councilor Irving Gamallo assumed Oyas’ post starting July 1, 2019 until the formal assumption of Salimbangon.

Accordingly, Salimbangon’s group will serve the first 15 months while Bacaltos will serve the next 19 months of the 34-month term until June 30, 2022.

Salimbangon claimed earlier that he has more than 300 of the 524 city and municipal councilors on his side, including the presidents of Association of Barangay Councils (ABC) and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) federations.

“Akong ipadayon ang mga nindot nga programa ug serbisyo sa matag konsehal (I will continue the programs and services of the councilors),” he said.

The slate of Salimbangon includes Toledo City Councilor Ricardo “Kuya Nick” Pepito as vice president, Alexseus Celis of Boljoon as secretary general, Jojessa Hortellano of Tabogon as treasurer, Mary Greleigh “Lovely” Cabrera of Santa Fe as auditor, Emelita Gabito of Madridejos as press relations officer, and Engr. Cyrus Otadoy of Tudela as business manager.

The members of the board of directors are Councilors Elver Ali Abucay of Daanbantayan, Michael Comedia of Dalaguete, Marie Immaline Cortes-Zafra of Mandaue City, Dr. Lorna Gonzales of Balamban, Mark Andrew Jorolan of Badian, Atty. Marvin Miralles of Pinamungajan, Atty. Reinerio “RJ” Miranda Jr. of Argao, and Elenito Palang of Consolacion.

Salimbangon is expected to align with the majority bloc in the PB of 10 members that belongs to Garcia’s camp. Six Board Members are allies of Davide including the two other ex-officio members, the president of the Liga ng mga Barangay, PB Member Celestino Martinez III of Bogo City, and Sangguniang Kabataan Federation president, PB Member Jericho Rubio, of Malabuyoc. (FREEMAN) 


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with