Sitoy tasked to observe ConCom proceedings
Gregg M. Rubio (The Freeman) - April 13, 2018 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — The Malacañang has tasked Secretary Adelino Sitoy to observe the proceedings of the Consultative Committee (ConCom), which was created by President Rodrigo Duterte to review the 1987 Constitution.

Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea informed, through a letter dated April 4, 2018, retired Supreme Court chief justice Reynato Puno, chairman of the ConCom, of the appointment of Sitoy, Presidential Adviser on Legislative Affairs and head of the Presidential Legislative Liaison Office.

“As observer, Secretary Sitoy will be submitting his written comments and observations to the Office of the Executive Secretary,” Medialdea wrote.

Medialdea, or his representative, is expected to act as an observer during committee deliberations.

Copy of the letter was also furnished to Presidential Communication Secretary Martin Andanar and Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque.

On December 7, 2016, Duterte signed Executive Order No. 10, creating a 25-member ConCom tasked to review the 1987 Constitution within six months from the day it is convened.

February this year, the consultative body has formally started its audit of the nation’s 30-year-old Charter.

The committee members tackled which provisions in the 1987 Constitution should be amended, as well as to study the kind of political system the Philippines should adopt in line with Duterte’s plan to change the country’s government system from unitary to federal.

The committee, which is composed of veteran former government officials, lawyers, and academicians, is under the Office of the President.

The personalities include former Senate president Aquilino "Nene" Pimentel Jr., Victor de la Serna, Ranhilio Aquino, Virgilio Bautista, Rodolfo Robles, retired Supreme Court associate justice Antonio Eduardo Nachura, Julio Teehankee, retired SC associate justice Bienvenido Reyes, Eddi Mapag Alih, Edmund Tayao, Ali Pangalian Balindong, Laurence Wacnang, former Integrated Bar of the Philippines president Roan Libarios, Reuben Canoy, Arthur Aguilar, Susan Ubalde-Ordinario, Antonio Arellano, and Randolph Parcasio. —/KBQ (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with