Bb. Cebu 2018 candidate among ‘StarStruck’ Season 7 finalists
Karla Rule (The Freeman) - June 16, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines —  Binibining Cebu 2018 alum Mary Jae Therese “MJ” Felizarta is among the 22 hopefuls – 11 females and 11 males – in the seventh edition of GMA-7’s reality-talent competition “StarStruck.”

The 18-year-old model, who represented the municipality of Bantayan and landed in the Top 25 out of 53 candidates in last year’s Binibining Cebu pageant, made it through the “StarStruck Experience” which saw participants in a series of tests designed to bring out the survivor in them.

MJ hails from North Carolina in the United States with maternal roots in Bantayan, north of Cebu. She spent her gap year getting to know Cebu by joining pageants. Apart from modeling and pageantry, MJ is also into gymnastics, acting, and dancing. She has engaged in volunteer work since she was 15 years old.

Her recent charity work was with the Archdiocesan Shrine of San Roque where she participated in feeding and teaching programs for the street children of Brgy. Mambaling, Cebu City.

Last January, MJ was Mambaling Performing Arts’ representative to the Sinulog Festival Queen search where she won Miss Photogenic.

The “StarStruck” Season 7 Top 22 finalists were sifted from a thousand auditionees and reaped from a pool of over 80 and then 40 standouts.

During last night’s pilot episode, MJ and the rest took on their final audition which determined who will become part of the Final 14.

The search for the Ultimate Male and Female Survivors wouldn’t be complete without the StarStruck Council, where Cherie Gil, Heart Evangelista and Jose Manalo sit as mentors. Viewers will also have the opportunity to participate in the weekly judging process.

In its first edition in 2003, “StarStruck” was such a hit that YES! Magazine even had a special edition printed for the show’s well-followed contenders. The show has also won Best Talent Search Program at the PMPC Star Awards for Television four times.

StarStruck’s first Ultimate Female Survivor, Jennylyn Mercado, is arguably the most successful winner of the show which has given the entertainment industry talents such as Mark Herras, Katrina Halili, Yasmien Kurdi, Nadine Samonte, Cristine Reyes, Rocco Nacino, Enzo Pineda, Ryza Cenon, Jackie Rice, Aljur Abrenica, Kris Bernal, Sarah Lahbati, and Migo Adecer, among many others.

Previous “StarStruck” finalists from Cebu include Diva Montelaba (first runner-up to Sarah Lahbati), Di Queblawi, Dave Bornea, Piero Vergara, Elyson De Dios, Claire Vande, Hazel Uy and Jay L Dizon.

Hosted by Jennylyn and Kapuso Primetime King Dingdong Dantes, “StarStruck” Season 7 airs on weekends: Saturdays after “Daddy’s Gurl” and Sundays after “Daig Kayo Ng Lola Ko.” Joining the pair is young actress Kyline Alcantara who is hosting “Inside StarStruck” on the show’s YouTube channel.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with