PBAPC honors Cone, Lastimosa

The Philippine Star
PBAPC honors Cone, Lastimosa
Barangay Ginebra's Tim Cone and Jojo Lastimosa of TNT fields questions during the PBA Governors' Cup finals press conference at the Novotel Ballroom.
PBA Images

MANILA, Philippines — Tim Cone and Jojo Lastimosa share the spotlight as they will be bestowed with the two highest honors by the PBA Press Corps during its Annual Awards Night today at the Novotel Manila Araneta City.

Cone of Barangay Ginebra is named the winner of the Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Coach of the Year, while Lastimosa of TNT is conferred with the Danny Floro Executive of the Year by the men and women who cover the PBA beat.

Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman Richard Bachmann will be the guest of honor and keynote speaker in the formal event presented by ArenaPlus together with Cignal TV.

This will be the fourth regular Coach of the Year honor for the 65-year-old Cone, who steered the Kings to their toughest championship yet when they prevailed over powerhouse guest team Bay Area Dragons to win the Season 47 Commissioner’s Cup in a thrilling finals that went the full seven-game route.

Owner of a record 25 championships, Cone previously won the award in 1994, 1996, and 2014. He was voted “Coach of the Bubble” when the league held the Philippine Cup for its lone conference of the season at the height of the pandemic in 2020.

Lastimosa will be presented with the award in honor of the late Crispa team owner Danny Floro, for his splendid work as TNT team manager, resulting in the franchise winning its first championship in six years during the Governors’ Cup.

vuukle comment



  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with