Fajardo, Thompson lead All-Star balloting

Olmin Leyba - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — Six-time MVP June Mar Fajardo and Season 46 MVP Scottie Thompson lead the initial voting for the PBA All Stars set March 9-12 in Passi, Iloilo.

Fajardo garnered 37,915 votes from the fans after the first week of online and on-site voting with Thompson closely behind with 37,759.

Sitting at third was Japeth Aguilar (37,322) followed by Jamie Malonzo (32,998), Calvin Abueva (32,503), CJ Perez (31,184), Christian Standhardinger (29,821), James Yap (28,117), LA Tenorio (28,027) and Stanley Pringle (27,441).

Jayson Castro (24,408), Paul Lee (24,126), Robert Bolick (23,468), RR Pogoy (20,042), Chris Newsome (19,637), Jeremiah Gray (18,875), Mikey Williams (18,826), Marcio Lassiter (18,556), Arvin Tolentino (18,444), Mark Barroca (17,139), Gabe Norwood (15,448), Calvin Oftana (15,427) and Kevin Alas (15,205) rounded out the Magic 24 so far.

Among the coaches, Ginebra’s Tim Cone showed the way with 51,707 followed by Rain or Shine’s Yeng Guiao.

Voting will run until Feb. 15.

Meanwhile, the PBA family mourned the death of former player Terry Saldaña yesterday due to lingering illness.

Saldaña, 65, was the league’s first recipient of the Most Improved Player award in 1983. He played 17 seasons for among others, Toyota, Gilbey’s Gin and Alaska and won seven championships.   

vuukle comment


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with