Comelec transmission logs show fraud in 2022 polls – Rio, Odoño

GOTCHA - Jarius Bondoc - The Philippine Star

Comelec finally gave retired colonel Leonardo Odoño (PMA ’64) transmission logs of Election 2022 precinct results. Chairman George Garcia released it Thursday, March 23, “to quell suspicion” of poll fraud.

But Odoño at once saw irregularities in the logs. As early as 7:08 to 7:10 p.m. of May 9, 332 distant precincts had transmitted results to Manila’s transparency server. By 7:17 p.m. there were 1,525,637 votes for president. Incredible, illegal.

Comelec General Instructions 10727 of Nov. 10, 2021 required all 106,174 precincts to close only at 7 p.m. Voters within 30 meters at that time were to be let in to cast ballots. In the unlikelihood that all registrants had voted earlier, precincts were to stay open till 7 for legitimate voters whose slots could’ve been used by fakes.

The three-man Board of Election Inspectors then announces closing. Party watchers and observers gather around the vote counting machine. The BEI performs nine tasks under Comelec General Instructions 10762 of Feb. 16, 2022. The first six consist of BEIs authenticating and keying passwords into the VCM, touching “Close Voting” on the screen and embedding PINs on the election result.

Longest is Task 7, printing eight copies of the Election Return. Containing the votes of all 348 candidates for national and local positions, plus 27 precinct information lines, each ER takes 2.51 minutes to print. Barring any paper snags and roll changing, all eight copies take 20.1 minutes.

Last two tasks: preparing electronic device and transmission to Smart, Globe or DITO. Total for all nine tasks: 32.1 minutes.

Odoño wants Comelec to demonstrate how precincts can transmit 8-17 minutes from closing.

By 8:02 p.m. last May 9 the transparency server showed 20,061,691 votes (38 percent of votes cast). Here’s another discrepancy. Transmission logs that Comelec gave Odoño and posted on its website March 24 state 20,676,855 votes at 8:02 p.m.

Retired general Eliseo Rio has been disputing the physical impossibility of 20-million plus votes within an hour of closing. As information-communication technology secretary in 2019, he chaired the Comelec Advisory Committee for that year’s midterm election. Time-and-motion exercises showed that ERs trickled in the first two hours, peaked at one point, then dwindled.

But in May 2022 votes peaked within one hour. (Last December the three telcos’ portals crashed from a four-day deluge of 18 million subscribers trying to register SIMs.)

“A first in Philippine elections or elsewhere!” Rio says. Comelec records show that, in automated elections of 2010, 2013, 2016 and 2019, votes peaked only after the second hour.

Last Oct. 18, Garcia publicized Comelec’s accumulated VCM logs showing votes peaking after the second hour, 9:30 p.m.

Another statistical infeasibility were presidential and VP standings, adds Rio, an electronic-electrical engineer and former AFP deputy for research and development. Presidential bet Marcos Jr. led with 60 percent of the votes as early as 7:17 and 8:02 p.m., till end of counting. Robredo stayed at 29 percent throughout; followed by Pacquiao, 5 percent; Moreno, 4 percent; Lacson, 2 percent. Was the transparency server conditioning the voters’ mind, Rio asks.

Same with VP candidate Duterte’s consistent lead, notes Rio. Moreover, Duterte had more votes than Marcos Jr., another first in Philippine balloting. Also, both Marcos Jr. and Duterte got higher votes than the top three senatorial winners, when it was always the other way around since 1946.

Rio, 78, believes the results were rigged. Smoking gun is Namfrel’s findings as far back as March 2022. The watchdog’s info-technologists led by (now chairman) Lito Averia spotted discrepancies between the VCM human-commanded source codes and computer-generated hash codes.

Twice they reported it to Commissioner Marlon Casquejo; twice no reply. Comelec merely posted the alibi of human typographical error by its multimillion-dollar system certification contractor Pro V&V. The hash codes to run the VCM on election day were probably changed after specialists reviewed the source codes, Namfrel concluded.

VCM tampering became possible because Comelec ignored Automated Election System Law provisions, computer expert Nelson Celis told this writer. (See https://tinyurl.com/Gotcha-18-May-2022) Once Philippine Computer Society president, Celis criticized the unreliable VCMs since first used in 2010. He was appointed to Comelec in October.

“Tuloy ang laban,” Odoño, 80, told Sapol-dwIZ Saturday. He plans impeachment complaints against the five commissioners who oversaw last May’s balloting: Garcia, Casquejo, Socorro Inting, Aimee Ferolino, Ray Bulay.

A growing number of Philippine Military Academy graduates support Odoño’s crusade for clean election. More than 125 retirees reportedly asked Comelec to heed his months-long plea for the transmission logs. Odoño gave the initial list of 70 generals and colonels:

Reynaldo Reyes ’64, Manuel Mariano ’62, Roberto Yap ’82, Tagumpay Jardiniano ’57, Guerrero Guzman ’65, Danny Abinoja ’74, Alexander Yano ’76, Guillermo Cunanan ’66, Leysander Ordenes ’88, Eugene Martinez ’88, Januario Caringal ’82, Raul Vinoya ’87, Michael Tome ’99, Ismael Villareal ’64, Niceto Festin ’59;

Arnold Mancita ’85, Romeo Meana ’62, Sacayo Ali Jr. ’91, Winston Arpon ’64, Gordon Descanzo ’82, Bonifacio de Castro ’79, Jose Gamos ’76, Augustus Paiso ’56, Edmund Tan ’80, Jet Velarmino ’82, Ulysses Abellera ’84, Rolando Acop ’86, Generoso Senga ’72, Mariano Santiago ’67, Manuel Domingo ’71;

Alejandro Camagay ’77, Virgilio Hernandez ’83, Ernesto Benitez Jr. ’82, Sergio Belleza ’66, Edgardo Ingking ’82, Noel delos Reyes ’82, Vergel Nacino ’81, Vic Buenaventura ’57, Plaridel Abaya ’59, Jaime Montanez ’82, Neri Caunte ’83, Rolando Malinao ’82, Roberto Santiago ’68, Salvador Manga Jr. ’77, Henry Rañola ’83;

Reynaldo Rivera ’71, Edwin Corvera ’79, David Santiago ’98, Romeo Pajarito ’82, Wilfredo Franco ’82, Edmundo Castellanes ’70, Ronie Pioquinto ’91, Roberto Lardizabal ’87, Ralph Mamauag ’90, Rufino Lopez Jr. ’74, Carlito Gamit ’74, Pio Domantay ’79, Matt Abinuman ’82, Sid Lapena ’73, Romeo Nebres ’82, Justo Manlongat ’69;

Rolando Rodriquez ’74, Rhodel Macasaet ’97, Dennis Acop ’83, Richard Brillantes Jr. ’69, Hector Tarrazona ’68, Edilberto Adan ’72, Roberto Aliggayu ’84, Carmelito Doria ’57, Victor Batac ’71.

*      *      *

Follow me on Facebook: https://tinyurl.com/Jarius-Bondoc

vuukle comment


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with