60 provinces still reeling from ASF

Bella Cariaso - The Philippine Star
60 provinces still reeling from ASF
Vendors display their products such as vegetables, fish, meat, and fruits up for sale at a public market in Lingayen, Pangasinan on December 23, 2023, two days before Christmas.
Cesar Ramirez / The Philippine STAR

MANILA, Philippines — Up to 60 provinces and 492 towns are still grappling with African swine fever (ASF) amid the continuous spread of the virus in the country, the Department of Agriculture (DA) said over the weekend.

Provinces that logged ASF cases are categorized under the red zone.

Of the country’s 82 provinces, only 11 remain ASF-free, or under the dark green zone, according to data released on Jan. 25 by the Bureau of Animal Industry (BAI), an attached agency of the DA.

Provinces that remain ASF-free are Basilan, Batanes, Biliran, Bohol, Bukidnon, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Norte, Palawan, Siquijor, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.

“At least 396 towns and cities have been upgraded to the pink or buffer zone from red or infected zone,” the BAI said, adding that some areas were upgraded to yellow or surveillance zone from pink or buffer zone.

Citing reports from the BAI, the DA said the ASF outbreak in Occidental Mindoro has been contained as no active case of the swine disease was recorded in areas earlier affected by the virus.

vuukle comment



  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with